This is historical material, "frozen in time." The web site is no longer updated and links to external web sites and some internal pages will not work.


Posted on Jul 30, 2019 in Main

Clayton Hee headshotClayton Hee was elected to the State House of Representatives in 1982 while residing on the island of Moloka’i where he worked as a public school teacher.  In 1984 he was first elected to the State Senate.  He subsequently served twelve years as a member of the Office of Hawaiian Affairs where he also served as its Chairman for 6 years.  He was re-elected to the State Senate in 2004 and served there until 2014.

He is a longtime Chair of the Senate Committee on Judiciary and Labor and is the author of over 100 laws many of which relate to the Hawaii Penal Code.  He is the recipient of several community awards from institutions including the Hawaiian Humane Society, the Hawaii Audubon Society, the Association of Court Reporters and Captioners, the Pew Foundation and Equality Hawaii.

Hee is a graduate of the Kamehameha Schools.  He earned one undergraduate degree and two graduate degrees from the University of Hawaii at Manoa.  While in graduate school at UH he was a recipient of the Na Poki’i Scholars Program.

Hee also worked as a graduate assistant and then a Lecturer while at the University of Hawaii.  Clayton Hee also taught at Windward Community College as well as at the Windward School for Adults prior to teaching Hawaiian history and culture at several public schools including McKinley, Kalaheo, Kailua High Schools and all five public schools on the island of Moloka’i.  During the summer Hee taught at his alma mater, the Kamehameha Schools Summer Explorations Program.


Max Otani headshotMax Otani worked at the Judiciary as a Family Court Officer and Circuit Court Probation Officer.  He later obtained employment with the Hawaii Paroling Authority and worked there for over two decades in various job positions, ranging from parole officer to division administrator.  Otani also served as the Intake Service Center Division Administrator and Deputy Director for Corrections with the Department of Public Safety (PSD).  During his career in corrections, Otani initiated evidence-based practices with the parole and pretrial populations in efforts to reduce recidivism.  He retired from PSD in 2016.

Otani was born and raised in Hilo, Hawaii.  He is a graduate of Hilo High School and the University of Hawaii at Hilo.  He also attended the University of Hawaii at Manoa where he obtained a master’s in social work.



Cheryl Inouye headshotCheryl Inouye began a criminal justice career in probation with the Judiciary on Oahu beginning in 1981, first in District Court, and later in Circuit Court, until her retirement in 2017. She assumed a variety of probation officer positions and was a section administrator, overseeing three units of probation officers specialized in managing sex offenders and high-risk substance abusers, at the end of her tenure.

During her career with the Judiciary, Inouye was instrumental in developing the first sex offender unit in the State of Hawaii, creating and piloting an innovative domestic violence intervention strategy for felony domestic offenders, developing a specialized unit to manage high risk substance abusers, and co-developing an effective strategy for managing probation violations later named Hawaii’s Opportunity Probation with Enforcement (HOPE).

Cheryl Inouye was born and raised on the island of Kauai and graduated from Kapaa High School.  She attended the University of Hawaii at Manoa on the island of Oahu where she received a Bachelor of Science degree in Human Development, and a Master’s in Social Work degree.

The interim appointments are subject to state Senate confirmation.  Their terms will expire June 30, 2023.

Link to video of swearing-in ceremony:

The three new members with Tommy Johnson, Hawaii Paroling Authority Administrator and Nolan Espinda, Director Department of Public Safety.

The three new members with Tommy Johnson, Hawaii Paroling Authority Administrator and Nolan Espinda, Director Department of Public Safety.