This is historical material, "frozen in time." The web site is no longer updated and links to external web sites and some internal pages will not work.

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE NEWS RELEASE: Governor Ige establishes committee to head 75th commemoration of Pearl Harbor attack

Posted on Feb 10, 2016 in Latest Department News, Newsroom, Office of the Governor Press Releases

HONOLULU — Gov. David Ige, in recognition of the 75th anniversary of the December 7, 1941 attack on Pearl Harbor this December, has appointed retired Navy Adm. Thomas B. Fargo to lead a Blue Ribbon Committee to define and orchestrate our state’s remembrance of this momentous event.  This year’s commemoration will be guided by the theme, “Honoring the past, inspiring the future,” reinforcing our commitment to security and friendship amongst people and nations.

“I cannot think of a more capable leader than Admiral Fargo to serve as chairman of this effort, coordinating community participation with our state administration to assure a meaningful commemoration,” said Gov. Ige.

Forever a symbol of American resilience and resolve to defend freedom, the annual commemoration of the attack on Pearl Harbor fosters reflection, remembrance and understanding.  The 75th anniversary stands out as significant, a poignant transition from honoring surviving WWII veterans, our ‘Greatest Generation,’ to thanking those who have followed in their footsteps.

“As we look to the future, we each have an opportunity and a personal responsibility to invest in and commit to inspiring the leaders of tomorrow, using history to help empower choices that negate fateful outcomes,” said Adm. Fargo.

The State Commemoration Committee is authorized to establish the logo, theme and build the execution team required to ensure heightened awareness and visibility locally and nationally.  It will also serve as a clearing house for all planned activities, creating an official calendar of events, communications plan, memorabilia portfolio, tourism packages, educational materials and more.

PH75thGovernor appointed Committee — leadership and full Committee membership:

Honorary Chairmen
Governor David Ige
ADM Harry Harris, USN, Commander U.S. Pacific Command

ADM Tom Fargo, USN (Ret.)

CAPT Steve Colón, USN (Ret.)

Sub-Committee Chairmen
Neil Sheehan, Events
ADM Zap Zlatoper, USN (Ret.), Finance
John Monahan, Marketing
Chris Tatum, Travel and Lodging
MG Joe Logan, USA, The Adjutant General – Hawai‘i, Government / Protocol

Committee Members
Mufi Hannemann
Thomas Lee
Rick Blangiardi
Tim Guard
RADM Gus Gustavson, USN (Ret.)
David Carey
Dennis Francis
Mark Dunkerley
Donna Tanoue
Sherry Menor-McNamara
George Szigeti
Kelly Sanders
Roy Amemiya
COL Clint Churchill, USAF (Ret.)

Liaison Members
LTG Anthony Crutchfield, USA, Deputy Commander U.S. Pacific Command
RADM John Fuller, USN, Commander Navy Region – Hawai‘i
Jacqueline Ashwell


Media Contacts:
Office of the Governor:
Jodi Leong
Deputy Communications Director/Press Secretary
Office: 808-586-0043
Mobile: 808-798-3929
[email protected]

Commemoration Committee:
Capt. Steve Colon, USN (Ret.)
President, Hawaii Division
Hunt Development Group
737 Bishop Street, Suite 2750
Honolulu, HI 96813
808-265-4253 (cell)
[email protected]

Clint Churchill
The Estate of James Campbell
900 Fort St Mall, #920
Honolulu, Hi. 96813
808-372-5372 (cell)
[email protected]