This is historical material, "frozen in time." The web site is no longer updated and links to external web sites and some internal pages will not work.

HIDOE News Release: Dozens of Hawaii teachers earn, renew national certification

Posted on Jan 24, 2019 in Latest Department News

HONOLULU – The Hawai‘i State Department of Education (HIDOE) is celebrating 63 of its teachers statewide this week who have earned or renewed their National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certification — a mark of distinction recognizing accomplished teaching.

The teachers voluntarily undertook and completed the profession’s highest mark of achievement through a rigorous, performance-based process, demonstrating their impact on student learning and achievement.

They join more than 650 National Board Certified Teachers (NBCT) in Hawai‘i, ranking Hawai‘i 11th in the country for the percentage of teachers who are Nationally Board Certified.

“The level of dedication shown by these teachers speaks volumes about their commitment to excellence in teaching and we sincerely applaud their efforts,” said Cynthia Covell, assistant superintendent of the Department’s Office of Talent Management. “We look forward to supporting their professional development and providing well-earned incentives for their achievements.”

A group of Hawai‘i Island teachers was recognized at an event in Keaau Tuesday, to be followed by a ceremony for Oahu teachers at the Hawai‘i State Capitol today. Ceremonies are also planned for Maui and Kauai teachers.

The following HIDOE teachers earned or renewed their certification:

Hawaii Island (12)

  • Julienne Arasato, Waiakea High
  • Shannon Jacob Kline, Konawaena High
  • Jacqueline Kubo Luna, Chiefess Kapiolani Elementary
  • Tracie Kuniyuki, Mountain View Elementary
  • Shelby Loo, Waimea Middle Public Charter School
  • Nauileiilima Murphy, Waimea Middle Public Charter School
  • Laurie O’Brien, Keaau High
  • Kerry Ogawa, Mountain View Elementary
  • Judah Plaut, Konawaena Middle
  • Hwa Hee Sohn, Chiefess Kapiolani Elementary
  • Samantha Tomori, Keaau Elementary
  • Heather Wickersham, Konawaena High

Kauai (7)

  • Brenda Barker, Kanuikapono Learning Center Public Charter School
  • Elizabeth Corrigan, King Kaumualii Elementary
  • Summer Holwegner, King Kaumualii Elementary
  • Denise Karratti, Kekaha Elementary
  • Peter Nash, Kauai High
  • Kathy Shibuya, King Kaumualii Elementary
  • Doreen Stone, King Kaumualii Elementary

Maui County (10)

  • Mary Jean Bega, Pukalani Elementary
  • Lani Espinoza, Kihei Elementary
  • Andrea French, Hana High and Elementary
  • Jennifer Kaopua, Waihee Elementary
  • Greta Martinez Vides, Kualapuu Elementary Public Charter School
  • Teresa Rosario, Maui High
  • Kathleen Schaffer-Barr, Kihei Elementary
  • Rodney Wade, Kihei Elementary
  • Julia Wagner, Princess Nahienaena Elementary
  • Andrea Yuen, Kaunakakai Elementary

Oahu (34)

  • Shelly Andrews, Kailua High
  • Rachel-Leslie Arashiro, Lanakila Elementary
  • Lorna Baniaga-Lee, Campbell High
  • Kristen Brummel, Hawaii State Teacher Fellowship Program, Hope Street Group
  • Kimberly Celebre, Leilehua High
  • Leimomi Chun, Koko Head Elementary
  • Michelle Colte, Daniel K. Inouye Elementary
  • Lisa Espiritu, Nimitz Elementary
  • Laura Ginoza, Pearl City Elementary
  • Camille Hampton, Waianae High
  • Vanessa Hong Ching, Ewa Makai Middle
  • Lisa Hyatt, Kahuku High and Intermediate
  • Ryan Kanetani, Holomua Elementary
  • Mark Kurisu, Leilehua High
  • Kristina Lee, Moanalua Middle
  • Mae Masuda-Kop, Nimitz Elementary (retired)
  • Erin Mendelson, Central District Office
  • Derek Minakami, Kaneohe Elementary
  • Megan Moynihan, Kamaile Academy
  • Phyllis Nakama-Kawamoto, Executive Office on Early Learning
  • Kathleen Nullet, Kailua Intermediate
  • Claire Oshita, Kaewai Elementary
  • Melissa Padilla, Campbell High
  • Lory Peroff, Waikiki Elementary
  • Jillian Przygodzinski, Aliiolani Elementary
  • Michael Ericson Ragasa, Waikiki Elementary
  • Natalia Sandoval, Waikiki Elementary
  • Mary Shire, Aiea Intermediate
  • Lisa Staib, Kamaile Academy
  • Courtney Tawata, Kalihi Kai Elementary
  • Kathleen Trifonovitch, Maunawili Elementary
  • Liane Voss, Moanalua High
  • Emily Willis, Kailua Intermediate
  • Maile Yasui, Momilani Elementary

Learn more about the certification and the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards here.


About the Hawaii State Department of Education
The Hawaii State Department of Education is the ninth-largest U.S. school district and the only statewide educational system in the country. Established in 1840 by King Kamehameha III, today’s public school system serves more than 170,000 students across 256 schools and 36 charter schools. The Department is committed to ensuring all students have access to a high-quality education and can successfully discover and embark upon their chosen path in life.

Stay Connected
Social: Twitter | Facebook | Vimeo | LinkedIn
Newsletters: Inspire | StriveHI | Education Update

Lindsay Chambers
Communications Director
Hawaii State Department of Education
Ph: (808) 586-3232
Email: [email protected]