This is historical material, "frozen in time." The web site is no longer updated and links to external web sites and some internal pages will not work.

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR — News Release — Governor Ige appointed to co-chair Council of Governors

Posted on Feb 21, 2019 in Latest Department News, Office of the Governor Press Releases

HONOLULU – The White House has announced that Gov. David Y. Ige has been appointed co-chair of the Council of Governors.

The Council of Governors (Council) was created by the National Defense Authorization Act for FY 2008 and formally established by President Obama’s Executive Order 13528, issued on January 11, 2010. It serves as a mechanism for governors and key federal officials to address matters pertaining to the National Guard, homeland defense and defense support to civil authorities.

“Hawaiʻi is home to the United States Indo-Pacific Command and well over three-hundred thousand Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen, Marines, Coast Guardsmen, Hawaii National Guardsmen, Army Reservists, and Department of Defense civilian employees. As governor of the State of Hawaiʻi, I am uniquely positioned here in the Pacific to partner with the federal administration to identify security challenges and seek solutions across our complex global environment,” said Gov. Ige.

The Council consists of 10 governors appointed by the president – five from each party – with two governors serving as co-chairs. The current members are:


Governor David Y. Ige (HI), co-chair

Governor Ned Lamont (CT)

Governor J. B. Pritzker (IL)

Governor Tim Walz (MN)

Governor Steve Bullock (MT)



Governor Asa Hutchinson (AR), co-chair

Governor Doug Ducey (AZ)

Governor Mike Parson (MO)

Governor Pete Ricketts (NB)

Governor Mike DeWine (OH)


The Council will be meeting on Friday, Feb. 22 in Washington, D.C. in conjunction with the National Governors Association’s 2019 Winter Meeting.

Former Gov. Neil Abercrombie previously represented Hawaiʻi on the Council.


Media Contacts:

Jodi Leong

Deputy Communications Director/Press Secretary

Office of the Governor

Office: 808-586-0043

Mobile: 808-798-3929 

[email protected]


Cindy McMillan

Communications Director

Office of the Governor 

Office: 808-586-0012

Mobile: 808-265-7974

[email protected]