This is historical material, "frozen in time." The web site is no longer updated and links to external web sites and some internal pages will not work.

STATE RECOVERS BACK WAGES AND PENALTIES FOR EMPLOYEES $14,360 in Back Wages and New Penalties Collected

Posted on Dec 11, 2017 in Latest Department News

HONOLULU — The Department of Labor and Industrial Relations (DLIR) today announced that it recovered $14,360.12 in back wages and penalties on a wage complaint made by two surf instructors hired by a Maui business that offers a variety of ocean-related recreational activities.


“The Legislature created a new administrative process for wage law along with a new, minimum $500 penalty to act as a deterrent,” said DLIR acting Director Leonard Hoshijo. “By adding more teeth to the enforcement of wage laws, the Legislature is helping us ensure that workers are paid fairly for the work they perform.”


The department collected $13,360.12, which included twice the amount of unpaid wages and interest due to the surf instructors, plus a penalty of $1,000 to the State general fund. The change in the law provided an efficient process to implement existing penalties payable to employees, recover unpaid wages, and impose an administrative penalty paid to the State.


The Payment of Wages and Other Compensation Law, Chapter 388, Hawaii Revised Statutes, applies to all private businesses with employees working in Hawaii. Employers should review their payment processes if they want to avoid paying these penalties. Some common problems that occur are: failure to notify employees at the time of hiring of the rate of pay, the time and place of payment; failing to notify employees in writing of any changes to payment agreements; failure to pay employees at least twice a month; failure to pay employees within seven days after the end of the pay period; and failure to pay an employee their full wages due at the time when the employee is terminated. All of these common violations were cited in this Maui case.


For more information about payment of wages in Hawaii go to the Wage Standards Division website at or call 808-586-8777.


Equal Opportunity Employer/Program

Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

TDD/TTY Dial 711 then ask for (808) 586-8866


# # #

View DLIR news releases:



Media Contact:

Bill Kunstman

Department of Labor and Industrial Relations

(808) 586-8845

[email protected]