

Proclamation In Recognition of Parliamentary Law Month

WHEREAS, parliamentary law originated in Athens nearly 3,000 years ago, was refined by the English during the last one thousand years, and made a part of the United States Constitution in 1789; and

WHEREAS, the five principles of parliamentary law are orderly procedure, equality of all members, justice for all, right of the minority to be heard on questions, and majority rule; and

WHEREAS, individuals knowledgeable of parliamentary rules and procedures are known as "parliamentarians;" and

WHEREAS, the Hawai'i State Association of Parliamentarians (HSAP), a constituent division of the National Association of Parliamentarians (NAP), was established in 1953 by prominent citizens of Hawai'i and is dedicated to observing the rights of members of various organizations involved with deliberative assemblies such as boards, clubs, associations, and religious groups; and

WHEREAS, HSAP recently assisted in the publication of *Nā Lula Hālāwai: A Parliamentary Guide to Conducting Meetings in Hawaiian*, authored by William J. Puette and Richard Keaoopuaokalani NeSmith; and

WHEREAS, HSAP continuously serves the entire community by providing its collective expertise on parliamentary law when requested by individuals and organizations, and sponsors educational courses, workshops and seminars for the general public; and

WHEREAS, April is traditionally designated as "Parliamentary Law Month" by the NAP because it is the birth month of Thomas Jefferson, known for his contributions to parliamentary procedure in America;

THEREFORE I, DAVID Y. IGE, Governor, and I, SHAN S. TSUTSUI, Lieutenant Governor of the State of Hawai'i, do hereby proclaim April 2017 as

"PARLIAMENTARY LAW MONTH"

in Hawaiʻi and urge all citizens of the Aloha State to consider the importance of parliamentary procedure in providing for civil discourse, protecting individual rights, ensuring fairness, and in maintaining order in meetings.

DONE at the State Capitol, in the Executive Chambers, Honolulu, State of Hawai'i, on this seventeenth day of March 2017.

DAVID Y. IGE

Governor, State of Hawai'i

SHAN S. TSUTSUI

Lt. Governor, State of Hawai'i