

**Proclamation** In Recognition of the

## Hawai'i Pacific University Sharks **Men's Basketball Team**

WHEREAS, the 2016-17 Hawai'i Pacific University Sharks men's basketball team had an exemplary season, with a record of 29-3 overall; and

WHEREAS, the Sharks posted a record of 18-2 in conference play and captured Hawai'i Pacific University's first Pacific West Conference men's basketball conference championship; and

WHEREAS, the Sharks won the 2017 Pacific West Conference Tournament for the first time in school history to earn an automatic bid into the NCAA Division II Tournament; and

WHEREAS, the Sharks defeated Sonoma State 73-61 to earn Hawai'i Pacific University's first win in the NCAA Division II Tournament: and

WHEREAS, the Sharks finished the season ranked No. 4 in the National Association of Basketball Coaches National Poll and No. 5 in the Division II Sports Information Directors Association National Poll; and

WHEREAS, Coach Darren Vorderbruegge was named the 2017 Clarence "Big House" Gaines Division II Coach of the Year, the PacWest Conference Coach of the Year and the NABC West Region Co-Coach of the Year;

THEREFORE I, DAVID Y. IGE, Governor, and I, SHAN S. TSUTSUI, Lieutenant Governor of the State of Hawai'i, do hereby proclaim April 28, 2017 as

## **"HAWAI'I PACIFIC UNIVERSITY SHARKS BASKETBALL DAY"**

in Hawai'i and ask the people of the Aloha State to join us in honoring their accomplishments. Congratulations Hawai'i Pacific University Sharks Men's Basketball Team!

Darnell Bettis Amiri Chukwuemeka Elliot DeFreitas Lorenze Gordon-Havnes Clayton Guy

Jonothan Janssen Connor Looney Jordan Martin Colfax Nordquist Chauncey Orr

Devan Rilev David Rowlands Nikola Urli Spencer Verin

Coaching Staff: Darren Vorderbruegge, Jesse Nakanishi, Matt Buhler, Michael Johnson, Tyler Harris

DONE at the State Capitol, in Executive Chambers, Honolulu, State of Hawai'i, this twenty-sixth day of April 2017.

Governor, State of Hawai'i

SHAN S. TSUTSUI Lt. Governor, State of Hawai'i