Harry Kim Mayor



**Roy Takemoto** *Managing Director* 

**Barbara J. Kossow**Deputy Managing Director

# County of Hawai'i Office of the Mayor

25 Aupuni Street, Suite 2603 • Hilo, Hawai'i 96720 • (808) 961-8211 • Fax (808) 961-6553 KONA: 74-5044 Ane Keohokālole Hwy., Bldg C • Kailua-Kona, Hawai'i 96740 (808) 323-4444 • Fax (808) 323-4440

## Amendment #2 and Extension to Mayor's COVID-19 Emergency Rule No. 12

On October 13, 2020, Governor David Y. Ige issued the Fourteenth Proclamation Related to the COVID-19 Emergency (14<sup>th</sup> Proclamation) authorizing the counties to establish a two-test system for transpacific travelers entering the State and to adopt a negative test exception to the County Travel Quarantine.

This Amendment #2 to Mayor's COVID-19 Emergency Rule No. 12 adopts two negative test exception choices for interisland travelers entering the County of Hawai'i. One choice is a pre-travel negative test exception that will follow the State's transpacific travel testing program. The other choice is a negative test exception that will allow interisland travelers to present a negative COVID-19 test result taken during their 14 day self-quarantine after arrival on Hawai'i Island to be released from quarantine. Both negative test exceptions will be integrated into the State's Safe Travels Program. Amendment #2 also recognizes an exemption for travel outside of Hawaii Island for medical purposes.

Section D.2 of Mayor's COVID-19 Emergency Rule No. 12 is hereby replaced with the following:

#### D. Travel to the County of Hawaiii

#### 2. Interisland Travelers

 <u>Exemption/Modified Quarantine</u>: Inter-island travelers arriving onto Hawai'i Island seeking a modified self-quarantine or exemption from the self-quarantine requirements must receive approval for such modification or exemption from the County of Hawai'i. Requests shall be submitted via the following online format:

https://survey123.arcgis.com/share/e2f4ce19aa854964a8fd60bec7fbe78c

Persons who travel outside of Hawai'i Island for medical purposes will not be subject to quarantine upon their return to Hawai'i Island as long as they submit a request to the County via the above online format and provide their flight itinerary, licensed physician letter or certification with the date(s) of appointments that are medically necessary. If the medical traveler requires a travel companion, this person must be named in the doctor's letter or certification. This exemption does not apply if the travel involves any non-medical related purposes.

 <u>Place of Quarantine</u>: Persons requiring paid or commercial lodging while subject to the mandatory 14 day self-quarantine shall designate a hotel or motel as their quarantine location. Short-term vacation rentals (STVR), bed and breakfast (B&B) establishments, or other paid or commercial lodging defined by the Hawai'i Revised Statutes as "transient accommodations" shall not be designated as a quarantine location except for visiting essential and critical infrastructure workers, provided quarantine restrictions are followed.

### Negative test exceptions:

1. Pre-test with negative COVID-19 results upon arrival: Persons five years or older traveling to Hawai'i County who provide written confirmation of a negative test result from a State approved COVID-19 test administered to the traveler within 72 hours prior to arrival into Hawai'i County are exempt from quarantine. Children under the age of five traveling with parents or guardians who have negative test results are exempt from quarantine.

"State approved COVID-19 test" means a test to determine the presence of active COVID-19 infection that has been approved for use under the Department of Health.

- 2. **Pre-test with no results upon arrival**: Persons who avail themselves to a pre-test but do not have their results upon arrival are subject to quarantine in accordance with Exhibit B Section 4(c) of the 14<sup>th</sup> Proclamation, but may submit their negative test result to the State by uploading such verification to <a href="https://www.travel.hawaii.gov">www.travel.hawaii.gov</a>.
- 3. **Post-Arrival test**: Persons subject to the 14 day self-quarantine may arrange for and break self-quarantine to receive an approved COVID-19 test while in mandatory self-quarantine. Those persons who provide written confirmation of a negative test result from a State approved COVID-19 test will be removed from quarantine. Negative test results must be submitted to the State by uploading such verification to www.travel.hawaii.gov.

Amendment #2 to Mayor's COVID-19 Emergency Rule No. 12 Page 3 of 3

Written acceptance of the negative test results will allow the traveler to no longer be subject to quarantine.

Persons shall bear all costs related to their interisland pre-travel and post arrival testing, however, County district testing will be available at no cost.

Amendment #2 extends Mayor's COVID-19 Emergency Rule No. 12 and Amendment to Mayor's COVID-19 Emergency Rule No. 12 and is effective from 12:01 a.m. October 21, 2020 to 7:00 a.m. through November 30, 2020, or until extended, rescinded, superseded, or amended by my subsequent order, or as otherwise provided by law.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the Seal of the County of Hawai'i to be affixed. Done this  $\frac{18+10}{12}$  day of October 2020 in Hilo, Hawai'i.

Mayor

County of Hawai'i

**CONCURRENCE:** 

3