MICHAEL P. VICTORINO

Mayor

**SANDY K. BAZ**Managing Director





### OFFICE OF THE MAYOR

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.mauicounty.gov

### PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY RULES, EFFECTIVE MAY 9, 2021

The virus that causes Coronavirus 2019 Disease ("COVID-19") is a novel severe acute respiratory illness that is easily transmitted, including by individuals who are infected but showing no symptoms. As of May 5, 2021, there were nearly 155 million cases and 3,237,107 deaths globally, and the United States continues to record the highest numbers of cases, with 32,557,295 cases and 579,265 deaths (https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/map.html). To date, there are 32,794 cases and 485 deaths in the State of Hawaii, with 3,599 cases in Maui County (https://health.hawaii.gov/coronavirusdisease2019).

On April 9, 2021, Governor David Y. Ige issued the Nineteenth Proclamation related to COVID-19, which continued the mandatory 10-day quarantine for persons entering the State of Hawaii. Transpacific travelers who provide written confirmation of a State-approved negative COVID-19 test are excepted from self-quarantine in accordance with the State's Emergency Proclamation. The Nineteenth Proclamation continued the 10-day interisland quarantine for travelers to the counties of Maui, Kauai, Hawaii, and Kalawao.

On May 7, 2021, Governor Ige issued the Twentieth Proclamation, which authorizes an exception to the Quarantine for Travel Between Counties for

persons who, prior to departure, complete a Department of Health-approved vaccine regimen in the State of Hawaii and provide validation as required by the Sate's Safe Travels program, in accordance with the Vaccine Information Rules and Penalties attached as Exhibit A to the Twentieth Proclamation.

These Rules are based on evidence of COVID-19 within the County and State of Hawaii, as reported by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the State Department of Health (DOH), scientific evidence, and best practices regarding the most effective approaches to slow the transmission of communicable diseases generally and COVID-19 specifically.

By the authority vested in me as Mayor of the County of Maui, by the Revised Charter of the County of Maui (1983), as amended ("Charter"), the Constitution and laws of the State of Hawaii, I, MICHAEL P. VICTORINO, Mayor of the County of Maui of the State of Hawaii, hereby amend, adopt and promulgate the following rules, pursuant to Section 127A-25, Hawaii Revised Statutes ("HRS"), which have the force and effect of law. Violation of any of the following rules is punishable as a misdemeanor, with fines of up to \$5,000, a maximum of one year in jail, or both.

### I. Definitions

### A. Essential Activities include:

- 1. Tasks essential to maintain health and safety, such as obtaining medicine, seeing a doctor, and testing for COVID-19.
- 2. Getting necessary services or supplies for an individual, or that individual's family or household members, such as getting food, pet food, and supplies necessary for staying at home.

- 3. Engaging in outdoor activity, such as walking, hiking, running, ocean sports (surfing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, or fishing).
- 4. Performing work related to operation of an essential business or essential government functions (defined below).
- 5. Caring for a family member in another household.
- 6. Caring for elderly, minors, dependents, persons with disabilities, or other vulnerable persons.

## B. Operation of an Essential Business includes:

- 1. Healthcare operations, including home health workers.
- 2. Essential infrastructure, including operation of public transportation and utilities.
- 3. Grocery stores, food banks, convenience stores, and farmer's markets.
- 4. Businesses that provide necessities of life for economically disadvantaged individuals and shelter facilities.
- 5. Pharmacies, health care supply stores, and health care facilities.
- 6. Gas stations, auto repair facilities, and auto supply stores.
- 7. Financial institutions.
- 8. Refuse collection.
- 9. Hardware, lumber, and other building material stores.
- 10. Maintenance service providers, such as plumbers, electricians, exterminators, yard or ground maintenance, and other service providers necessary to maintain the safety, sanitation, and essential operation of residences and businesses.
- 11. Laundromats and laundry service providers.
- 12. Businesses that primarily ship or deliver groceries, food, and goods.
- 13. Preschool facilities (daycare, summer camp, etc.) operating in compliance with state laws, administrative rules, and restrictions, provided that children do not switch groups; groups are located in separate rooms and not commingled; caregivers are assigned and remain with one group of children.
- 14. Newspapers, television, radio, and other media.
- 15. Construction and maintenance, public and private, provided it is conducted in workplaces in a manner that ensures worker safety, including physical distancing requirements.
- 16. Agricultural operations, including delivery and shipment of flowers, provided measures are implemented to ensure worker safety, including physical distancing requirements.

- 17. Businesses that supply other essential businesses with the support or supplies necessary to operate, e.g., chemical supply companies.
- 18. Businesses conducting legally mandated activities.
- 19. Businesses that provide food, shelter, and other necessities of life for animals, including animal shelters, rescues, kennels, and adoption facilities.
- 20. Funeral, mortuary, cremation, burial, cemetery, and related services.
- 21. Educational institutions, including Kindergarten-12 grade, colleges, and universities. Private educational institutions shall comply to the extent feasible with the State of Hawaii Department of Education's practices and policies related to the COVID-19 health emergency.
- 22. Hotels and motels, to the extent used for lodging, in compliance with the State of Hawaii restrictions.

# C. Designated Businesses and Operations, as described in Exhibit $\underline{A}$ .

**D.** Government Functions: Includes all services needed to ensure the continuing operation of the government agencies that provide for the health, safety, and welfare of the public.

#### II. RULES

Rule 1: Act With Care. All individuals currently within the County are encouraged to stay at their residence or place of lodging, except as provided in these Rules. With respect to persons residing in hotels, condominiums, townhomes, apartments, or other multi-unit dwellings, "place of residence" means the person's individual hotel room or unit. To the extent persons use shared or outdoor spaces (e.g., condominium common areas, pools, barbecue areas) when outside their residence, they must comply with Rule 5, as ordered by the State of Hawaii, or as instructed by the CDC, whichever is more stringent.

Rule 2: County Meetings or Hearings. County meetings or hearings, including contested case hearings, are suspended, provided that meetings or

hearings may be held to the extent such meetings or hearings are conducted by telephone or video conference as determined solely by the County department providing administrative assistance to the board or commission. In addition to all County boards and commissions, this Rule applies to all proceedings that involve live testimony by government employees or members of the public (i.e. arbitrations, depositions, hearings, etc.).

Rule 3: County Deadlines or Automatic Approvals. Any County deadline or automatic approval of any permit application, unless specifically provided for by Mayor's directive, or contested case matter under the Maui County Code or the administrative rule of any County department, board, or commission that is currently pending, is hereby continued to 60 days from the date of the latter of the following: the termination of the County's Proclamation of Emergency of Disaster related to COVID-19, as may be extended; the Declaration of Termination of Emergency issued by the undersigned; or the date of the current deadline or automatic approval in the Maui County Code or any administrative rule of any board, commission, or agency, as of the date of the adoption of these Rules. This Rule applies only to deadlines for action imposed by ordinance or administrative rule on any County department, board, and commission. This Rule does not extend any permit condition of any existing permit that has already been approved. This Rule does not extend the time for filing of an appeal for matters that have already been decided by a County department, board, or commission.

Rule 4: Social Gatherings. Indoor and outdoor social gatherings of up to 10 persons are permitted. More than one group of 10 persons may gather outdoors, provided face coverings are worn and physical distancing of at least 6 feet between separate groups is maintained. Gatherings of members of a single residential or family unit sharing the same address are not restricted. Rule 4 does not apply to essential or designated businesses and operations, pursuant to Sections I(B), I(C), and Exhibit A, that have supervision, monitoring, and other enforcement protocols in place or are otherwise subject to specific rules or restrictions, e.g., the state and federal court systems, state and federal offices and functions, Department of Education, daycares, preschools, private schools, universities, and similar institutions.

**Rule 5: Masks, Physical Distancing, Sanitation.** Persons shall comply with the following physical distancing and sanitation requirements:

**a. Face covering**. The requirements of Governor Ige's Nineteenth Proclamation are incorporated herein by reference, and in the case of any difference in these Rules and the State's Proclamation, the more stringent or comprehensive shall apply.

As a general guideline, "if you have to ask, wear a mask."

Pursuant to Exhibit I to the State's Nineteenth Proclamation, exemptions to mask wearing are included, such as individuals are not required to wear face coverings "while outdoors when physical distance of six (6) feet from other individuals (who are not members of the same household/living unit/residence) can be maintained at all times."

Within Maui County, this exception applies:

- 1. When persons are stationary and adequately separated, such as occupying a pool lounge chair, beach chair, or towel.
- 2. Face coverings must be worn while walking to and from the pool or beach area and may only be removed once the person is stationary and adequately separated from non-household members.

This exception does not apply, and face coverings are required:

- 1. On sidewalks, hiking trails, and in parks and similar areas, unless actively engaged in strenuous outdoor physical activity, provided adequate physical distancing is both possible and practiced.
- 2. In any open-air or partially open mall, marketplace, lobby, atrium, gas station, or similar facility.
- 3. Where specific facility rules, such as for sports, bars, and restaurants, are established.
- **b. High risk populations**. Elderly and others at high risk for Covid-19 should consider getting vaccinated, or stay in their residences or practice physical distancing at all times to the extent possible, except to seek medical care.
- **c. Persons who are sick**. Persons who are sick, have a fever, cough, or who are exhibiting symptoms such as shortness of breath, difficulty breathing, chills, repeated shaking with chills, muscle pain, headache, sore throat, or new loss of taste or smell, are urged to stay in their residences to the extent possible, except to seek medical care.
- d. Six-foot distances. All persons shall maintain a minimum of six-feet of physical separation from all other persons to the fullest extent possible. Essential and designated businesses or operations shall designate with signage, tape, or other means, six-foot spacing for employees and customers waiting in line. Essential and designated businesses or operations shall monitor and enforce the six-foot distancing requirement, whether with outside waiting lines or as customers move about inside a facility. Stores with aisles shall use signage to indicate one-way access to the extent feasible. Checkout operations shall be modified, to the extent reasonably feasible, to provide this separation or to provide a transparent shield or barrier between customers and checkout clerks.
- **e. Limited occupancy**. Each essential or designated business or operation shall determine and enforce the maximum number of persons that may be accommodated while maintaining the specified physical distance and limiting the number of individuals within a facility. Unless a more specific limit applies elsewhere in these Rules, essential or designated retail businesses shall limit total occupancy to 50 percent of the facility's maximum occupant load. Retailers shall be allowed to round up to whole numbers for occupancy requirements.

- **f. Sanitation measures**. Essential and designated businesses or operations shall make hand sanitizer and sanitizing products readily available for employees and customers. Employees handling items from customers, such as cash or credit cards, shall frequently utilize hand sanitizers.
- **g. Disinfection**. Essential and designated businesses or operations shall regularly disinfect all high-touch surfaces. A list of disinfectants that meet the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's criteria for use against Covid-19 is available at https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2-covid-19.
- **h. Safeguards for high-risk populations**. Essential businesses should implement processes to safeguard elderly and high-risk customers, such as exclusive shopping hours.
- i. **Pickup at store or delivery**. To the extent feasible, businesses or operations may provide for online ordering and purchase of goods, delivery, and customer pickup of orders outside the facility.
- **j. Signage**. Businesses or operations shall post a sign at the entrance of the facility informing employees and customers that they shall, at a minimum: wear CDC recommended face coverings while in the business or operation; avoid entering the business if they have a cough or fever or otherwise do not feel well; maintain a six-foot distance (physical distancing) from one another.
- **k. Enforcement.** Businesses or operations shall refuse to allow entry to persons not wearing face coverings, unless an exception applies under these Emergency Rules. Businesses or operations not enforcing or not in compliance with any of these Emergency Rules may be subject to enforcement, including fines and mandatory closure. Subsequent violations may result in increased fines and/or longer periods of mandatory closure.
- **Rule 6:** Exhibit A details specific requirements for certain businesses and activities, e.g., restaurants, bars, cafes, and other food establishments; salons, estheticians, massage, and body work; and sports.
- **Rule 7:** Nightclubs and concert halls are ordered closed until notified otherwise, except that concert halls may conduct limited in person activities as

allowed under the rules (e.g. hula halau practices), or by exception as approved by the County of Maui. Such businesses may conduct "minimum basic operations." Minimum basic operations do not include in-person public/customer interactions and are limited to the minimum activities necessary to maintain the value of the business's inventory, ensure security, and process payroll and employee benefits.

**Rule 8:** Beaches and County parks are open; however, the County may close parks for maintenance or repairs, to address safety concerns, or for COVID-related response. Waiale Park shall remain closed to accommodate the provision of temporary emergency shelters. County parks and beach parks will be open from 7:00 a.m. through 7:00 p.m., except that outdoor County courts (e.g., tennis, basketball, etc.) may remain open until 8:00 p.m. Only permitted commercial activities are allowed. No party bouncers (bouncing castles, etc.), water or other slides will be allowed at any beaches or County parks. Persons at any County park must comply with Rule 5.

**Rule 9:** Repealed.

Rule 10: Liquor Control Officers ("LCOs") shall have the authority to enforce emergency rules at any establishment licensed to sell alcohol pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 281. An establishment that is not in compliance with these rules, including those listed in Exhibit "A", attached hereto, shall be subject to immediate closure for a twenty-four hour (24) period effected by the Maui Police Department and/or LCO. Liquor licensees not in compliance with the requirements of these rules shall also be subject to penalties

enforceable pursuant to the Liquor Laws of Hawaii, Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 281, which may include a reprimand, fine, suspension, and/or revocation of the liquor license.

# Rule 11: Mandatory travel quarantine and travel quarantine lodging.

- a. Health Screening and Travel Quarantine. Unless excepted under Rule 12, all persons traveling to the County of Maui, whether interisland or from out of state, shall be subject to health screening pursuant to Exhibit B of Governor Ige's Nineteenth Proclamation and mandatory self-quarantine. The period of self-quarantine shall begin on the date of entry into the County of Maui and shall last 10 days or the duration of the person's presence in the County, whichever is shorter. A person subject to a travel quarantine may only break quarantine to seek medical attention, leave the State, or as otherwise allowed under a limited quarantine exemption approved by the State or County.
- **b. Travel Quarantine Lodging.** Pursuant to Governor Ige's Nineteenth Emergency Proclamation, persons who have not been approved for limited quarantine by the State or County and who require paid or commercial lodging while subject to the mandatory 10-day quarantine shall designate a hotel or motel on the County's approved list as their quarantine location.

Short-term rental homes (STRH), bed and breakfast (B&B) homes, or other types of transient vacation rentals (TVR), as defined in the Maui County Code may be designated as a quarantine location for a new or "intended" Hawaii resident, provided that the full 10-day quarantine is served and not stopped early. No STRH, B&B, or TVR may be designated as a quarantine location for a new or "intended" Hawaii resident more than once in any six-month period.

STRH, B&B, and TVR may provide lodging for persons 1) not subject to quarantine or 2) for travelers performing critical infrastructure ("CISA") functions, as described in Section III.A of the Nineteenth Proclamation, who have been issued a limited quarantine exemption by the State or County, provided quarantine restrictions are followed.

The property owner, manager, agent, landlord, tenant, and guest shall each be responsible for ensuring, and documenting, compliance with this Rule. Documentation shall be provided to the County, at the County's request. Failure to provide such documentation within the time specified in the request shall be deemed a violation of this rule.

# Rule 12: Requests for Limited Quarantine and Quarantine Exemptions.

**a. CISA Limited Quarantine.** A quarantine exemption request for travel into Maui County from within the State of Hawaii must be made at <a href="https://www.mauicounty.gov">www.mauicounty.gov</a>. Requestors must timely supply all required documentation prior to travel.

Persons who travel into Maui County solely to conduct CISA functions, as identified in Section III.A of the Governor's Nineteenth Proclamation, may be approved for a limited "home-to-work" quarantine exemption. If a limited exemption is granted by the County, such person may go to and from work only, or to seek emergency medical care, and shall be subject to all quarantine restrictions when not performing their CISA work or engaging in the activity expressly exempted. All travelers who obtain a limited quarantine exemption must download and present to screeners either the AlohaSafe Alert application (available at <a href="www.alohasafealert.org">www.alohasafealert.org</a>), or other Google-Apple exposure notification system application or setting enabled, prior to entry into Maui County.

- b. Maui County Travel, Kalawao County-Molokai Travel. Persons not subject to any quarantine or stay-at-home order who travel solely within the islands of Maui County or solely between Kalawao County and other locations on Molokai will not be subject to quarantine or pretravel COVID-19 testing when traveling within Maui County. These persons do not need to apply for a quarantine exemption, but must present their flight itinerary to airport screeners. This exemption does not apply if any portion of the travel is outside Maui County, including connecting flights through Oahu, or if the person has traveled outside the State of Hawaii in the past 10 days or is subject to quarantine.
- c. Travel for Medical or Veterinary Purposes. Persons not subject to any quarantine or stay-at-home order who travel outside Maui County solely for medical or veterinary purposes, providing the travel is same day or overnight only, will not be subject to quarantine or pre-travel COVID-19 testing upon their return to Maui County. These persons do not need to apply for a quarantine exemption, but must present their flight itinerary and doctor's letter with date of appointment clearly indicated to screeners on arrival. If the medical traveler requires a travel companion, this person must be specifically named in the doctor's letter. This exemption does not apply if the travel involves any non-medical related purposes.
- **d. Exposure Notification System Required**. All travelers into Maui County, whether interisland or transpacific, who wish to avoid quarantine by pre-testing within the State's Safe Travels Program, must additionally download either the AlohaSafe Alert application or another Google-Apple Exposure Notification System application, or enable their

exposure notification setting on their mobile device. Proof of registration, such as showing airport screeners or any law enforcement officer, the application installed or the setting enabled on a traveler's mobile device, is required. Failure to register with an exposure notification system prior to arrival into Maui County shall result in mandatory quarantine, except for any individual under the age of 18, or who does not possess a mobile device or compatible mobile device.

e. Travelers with Negative COVID-19 Test - Pre-Arrival and Post-Arrival. Interisland or transpacific travelers age five and older who provide written confirmation of a negative test result from an approved COVID-19 test administered to the traveler within 72 hours from the last leg of departure prior to arrival into Maui County, are exempt from quarantine with proof of registration on an exposure notification system as described above; provided, that up to 100 percent of transpacific travelers into Maui, as determined by the County of Maui, who choose to participate in the State's pre-departure test program (Safe Travels) to bypass a travel quarantine are also required to obtain a second COVID-19 test upon arrival in Maui County. Children under the age of five traveling with parents or guardians who have negative predeparture and post- arrival COVID-19 test results, or have received an exception under these rules or the Governor's proclamations, are exempt from quarantine and post-arrival testing. Transpacific travelers who are fully vaccinated may be exempt from the post-arrival test requirement with proof of vaccination, but are still required to take a pre-departure test to qualify for a quarantine exception through the State's Safe Travels Program.

"Approved COVID-19 test" means a test to determine the presence of an active COVID-19 infection that has been approved for use by the State and administered by a State approved provider. Currently approved are Nucleic Acid Amplification Tests (NAAT) from a certified Clinical Laboratories Improvement Amendment (CLIA) lab. For information on COVID-19 testing for travel purposes, visit https://hawaiicovid19.com/travel-partners/.

"Fully vaccinated" means a traveler has received both doses of the Pfizer or Moderna vaccines, or one dose of the Johnson & Johnson vaccine, and at least 14 days has passed since their final dose.

"Proof of vaccination" means presenting your original CDC vaccination card or certificate of vaccination downloaded from the CDC's Vaccination Administration Management System (VAMS).

Travelers whose negative test results are not available at the time of arrival or who refuse to participate in the post-arrival test, must quarantine pursuant to Rule 11 at their place of lodging for 10 days or the duration of their stay in Maui County, whichever is shorter. Persons, who are subject to a travel quarantine and who require paid or commercial lodging must quarantine at an approved travel

quarantine hotel or motel. A STRH, B&B, or TVR shall not be designated as their place of quarantine. The hosts of any person subject to mandatory self-quarantine are subject to all provisions of these Rules and the Governor's proclamation.

Travelers who are confirmed to be COVID-19 positive will be directed by the DOH to quarantine at their place of lodging.

- f. Vaccine Exception for Inter-County Travel. Starting May 11, individuals fully vaccinated in the State of Hawaii may travel into Maui County without pre-departure testing/quarantine starting the 15th day after the completion of their vaccination. Interisland travelers arriving into the County of Maui shall comply with Governor Ige's Twentieth Proclamation related to the COVID-19 Emergency Quarantine for Travel Between Counties. Inter-County travelers who arrive into Maui County before they are fully vaccinated, or before the 15th day after the completion of their vaccination, will be placed into mandatory quarantine for the full 10 days, unless they meet the criteria for other exceptions, such as CISA or pre-departure testing. This exemption starts May 11, 2021, and is in accordance with protocols established by the Director of the Hawaii Emergency Management Agency. Details will be posted at https://hawaiicovid19.com and on mauicounty.gov. All Rules, including mandatory use of face coverings, must still be observed.
- g. Prior Positive COVID-19. Persons who previously tested positive for COVID-19 but are no longer at risk of infecting others may obtain an exemption from a travel quarantine prior to travel. Any transpacific travelers requesting such exemption should obtain the exemption through the State of Hawaii. https://ag.hawaii.gov/travelexemption/. Inter-County travelers requesting such exemption should do so through the County of Maui. Instructions can be found on mauicounty.gov. The conditions under which a person qualifies for this exemption shall be as set forth by the DOH, and can be found at https://ag.hawaii.gov/travelexemption/. Children under the age of five traveling with their guardian who is approved for an exemption from quarantine for previously testing positive for COVID-19, will receive an exemption as well without providing additional documentation.
- **h. Costs**. Persons shall bear all costs related to their pre-travel testing, and any subsequent costs related to their COVID-19 status, including, but not limited to, monitoring, lodging, potential isolation, and any associated care.

These rules shall take effect on May 9, 2021 at 12:01 a.m., unless otherwise specified, and repeal the Emergency Rules promulgated April 9, 2021. With the exception of Rule 3, these Rules shall be repealed upon the earlier of: 1) subsequent promulgation or 2) termination of the Proclamation of Emergency for Maui County.

MICHAEL P. VICTORINO

Mayor

County of Maui May 5, 2021

ABPROVED:

MOANA/M. LUTEY Corporation Counsel County of Maui

REVIEWED ON BEHALF OF GOVERNOR DAVID Y. IGE BY:

Print Name: David Y. Ige

Title: Governor, State of Hawaii

Date: May 7, 2021

### EXHIBIT "A"

# RULES FOR DESIGNATED BUSINESSES AND OPERATIONS

- 1. Businesses may request reconfiguration of the customer usage area, such as expansion of table seating or merchandise display into a business's parking lot, in order to provide for adequate physical distancing, by letter to the Mayor's Office. Such reconfiguration shall not exceed the scope of the use pre-Covid.
- 2. Golf courses, provided they follow restrictions/guidance by the PGA. Beverage carts are allowed, provided workers wear gloves and masks and use tongs to pass out items and contactless payment processing.
- 3. Bowling alleys, provided they follow restrictions/guidance by the United States Bowling Congress or similar entity.
- 4. Safety inspection stations.
- 5. Auto dealerships, including showrooms.
- 6. Retail and repair services that do not involve physical contact.
- 7. Photographers, videographers, and photo studios. Customers may remove their face coverings during the photo/video shoot or session only. The photographer/videographer must wear a face covering at all times.
- 8. Food courts, including movie theater snack bars. See Restaurants, below, for operating restrictions.
- 9. Condominium, Homeowners, or Planned Community Associations, if required by law, declaration, or bylaws, may conduct in-person meetings, provided: (1) all persons must distance at least six feet apart; (2) everyone wears masks; (3) the meeting must be conducted outside; (4) no more than one person from each lot or unit can attend the meeting; (5) no food/beverages may be served; and (6) the meeting is limited to conducting business only (no owners' forums, social gatherings, etc.). Condition (4) may be modified only to the extent that two or more unit or lot owners may attend a meeting in person if the association's declaration or bylaws permit or require voting according to ownership interest in the unit.
- 10. Automated service providers that do not require human interaction between the service provider and the customer, including, but not limited to, fully automated car washes.
- 11. Mobile service providers that provide services on a mobile basis in which no human interaction between the service provider and the customer, including, but not limited to, mobile pet grooming and car washing/detailing businesses.
- 12. Music instruction should follow the National Federation of State High School Associations and National Association of Music Education's Fall 2020 Guidance for Music Education, available at <a href="https://www.nfhs.org/media/3812373/nafme\_nfhs-guidance-for-fall-2020-review-june-19-2020-final.pdf">https://www.nfhs.org/media/3812373/nafme\_nfhs-guidance-for-fall-2020-review-june-19-2020-final.pdf</a>, to the extent feasible.

- 13. Choirs with musicians are permitted to rehearse and perform, on condition that each member is spaced a minimum of 10 feet away from each other and in compliance with proper sanitation of all equipment, chairs, and high touch areas. Masks will not be required of singers during rehearsal or performance.
- 14. Musical performances. No more than 10 musicians on stage, six-foot distance between musicians, and a minimum of ten feet between the stage and audience. Dancing may be allowed in accordance with guidance provided to wedding operators below. Seating should follow restaurant guidelines, or for stadium type seating, physical distancing described in Rule 5 is required (maximum number of occupants, distancing between groups).
- 15. In-person spiritual services may be conducted provided all of the following are implemented:
  - a. All persons present at the service must maintain six (6) feet of physical distance between others, except members of the same household or living unit. Organizers should limit the number of persons attending in-person spiritual services to ensure this physical distancing requirement is met.
  - b. Organizers and employees are strongly encouraged to develop and implement appropriate COVID-19 mitigation plans and procedures for their respective in-person services, which must include, but are not limited to, addressing the following issues:
    - i. Usage of face coverings as detailed in Rule 5(A).
    - ii. Safeguards for higher risk populations consistent with CDC guidance, available at https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/need-extraprecautions/index.html.
    - iii. Persons who are sick.
    - iv. Personal hygiene.
    - v. Usage of hand sanitizer and sanitizing products.
    - vi. Cleaning and disinfection.
    - vii. Online and remote access and/or drive-in services.
    - viii. Signage.
    - ix. Limiting community sharing of worship materials and other frequently touched items.
    - x. Projection of hymns and verses, when possible.
    - xi. Organizers and employees of in-person spiritual services must follow to the greatest extent possible current COVID-19 related County guidelines, State of Hawaii guidelines, CDC guidelines (available at https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/faith-based.html).

- 16. Drive-in spiritual, and non-spiritual, services or events (such as drive-in movies) provided:
  - a. Persons attending services must drive up in an enclosed vehicle and remain in that same vehicle during the entire event. Sitting in the bed of an open-air pickup truck is allowed.
  - b. Vehicle windows, sunroofs, and convertible tops must remain closed during the entire service, unless the vehicle is parked more than six (6) feet away from any other vehicle.
  - c. Persons within the same vehicle must wear face coverings as provided in Rule 5, unless the vehicle is occupied only by members of the same household or living unit.
  - d. Organizers and all participants must follow current County Rules, State, and CDC guidelines.
  - e. Organizers, observing physical distancing, should be present to ensure proper spacing between vehicles and the orderly compliance of all guidelines. Organizers should not interact with vehicle occupants beyond requesting their compliance with all guidelines.
  - f. Organizers should use cashless or other non-contact methods for monetary transactions, including collections.
  - g. Presentations may be conducted by radio transmitters, or streamed over the internet.
- 17. Restaurants, bars, food courts, commercial events such as luau and weddings, and other food establishments in the County shall comply with the following requirements:
  - a. General.
    - i. Bars and restaurants must close no later than 11 p.m. This restriction does not apply to drive-through, non-liquor related take-out, delivery, or room service only. For non-liquor related take-out service, customers shall not enter the restaurant past 11 p.m.
    - ii. Compliance with Physical Distancing Requirements in Rule 5.
    - iii. Compliance with all regulatory guidelines.

Development, posting, and implementation of written protocols ("COVID-19 Mitigation Plan") consistent with County, State, industry-specific associations or organizations, and CDC guidance to mitigate the spread of COVID-19 including, but not limited to the following: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/business-employers/bars-restaurants.html

- b. Operations.
  - i. Face coverings (as defined in Rule 5).
    - 1. Employees must wear face coverings.

- 2. Customers Customers must wear face coverings at all times, but may temporarily remove a face covering only while actively eating or drinking.
- ii. Seating is arranged so that six (6) feet of separation is maintained between tables. Limit occupancy to no more than fifty percent (50%) of the maximum interior occupant load.
- iii. The number of persons at one table can be no more than 10.
- iv. Condiments should be by request in single-use disposable packets, or reusable condiment containers that are sanitized between parties.
- v. Condiments, silverware, flatware, glasses, or other traditional table top items should not be left on an unoccupied table.
- vi. Tables and chairs must be fully sanitized after each group (or individual customer) leaves the restaurant.
- vii. Disposable foodware and utensils should be used when available. When non-disposable foodware or utensils are used, they must be sanitized after each use consistent with DOH guidance and regulations, and "best practices" of the FDA (available here: https://www.fda.gov/food/food-safety-during-emergencies/best-practices-re-opening-retail-food-establishments-during-covid-19-pandemic), as updated or superseded.
- viii. Provide disposable menus or menu board, or sanitize reusable menus after each use.
- ix. Hourly touch-point sanitization (workstations, equipment, screens, door knobs, restrooms, etc.) required.
- x. Buffets, salad bars, and other types of self-service of food or beverages are not allowed.
- xi. Dancing may be allowed in accordance with guidelines for wedding operators below; karaoke is allowed provided the singer is at least 10 feet from others; no general customer singing.
- xii. Music performance allowed (see Nos. 13 and 14, above).

# c. Hygiene.

- i. Employer must provide hand washing capability or sanitizer for employees and customers.
- ii. An adequate supply of soap, disinfectant, or hand sanitizer must be available at all times.
- iii. Frequent hand washing by employees, especially between interactions with customers.

### d. Staffing.

i. Provide training for employees regarding these requirements.

- ii. Conduct pre-shift screening, and maintain a staff screening log.
- iii. No employee displaying symptoms of COVID-19 should provide services to customers. Symptomatic or ill employees should not report to work.
- iv. No person should work within 72 hours of exhibiting a fever or other COVID-19 symptoms, and follow the CDC's "What To Do If You Are Sick" guidance, available at https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/if-you-are-sick/steps-when-sick.html.
- v. Employer must establish a plan for employees getting ill and a return-to-work plan following CDC guidance, which can be found online at: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/guidance-business-response.html.

## e. Cleaning and Disinfecting.

- i. Cleaning and disinfecting must be conducted in compliance with CDC guidance.
- ii. When an active employee is identified as being COVID-19 positive by testing, cleaning should be performed as soon after the confirmation of a positive test as practical consistent with CDC guidance.
- iii. CDC guidance can be found online at: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/disinfecting-building-facility.html

# f. Specific requirements for bars:

- i. Limit occupancy to no more than fifty percent (50%) of the maximum occupant load of the bar.
- ii. Limit groups within the bar to a maximum of ten (10) individuals per group.
- iii. Ensure groups within the bar maintain at least six (6) feet of separation from other groups.
- iv. Prohibit groups within the bar from intermingling.
- v. Designate areas to separate groups at least six (6) feet apart from each other. (E.g., through ropes or other physical separation for standing areas, or the seating of guests at separate tables, or both).
- vi. Ensure individuals in different groups maintain a minimum of six (6) feet of physical distance from each other to the greatest extent possible.
- vii. Require all employees to wear face coverings.

- viii. Ensure all customers wear face coverings at all times, except customers may temporarily remove face coverings only while actively eating or drinking.
- g. Encouraged practices:
  - i. Have customers enter and exit through different entries using one-way traffic, where possible.
  - ii. Start or continue entryway, curbside, and home delivery.
  - iii. Encourage making reservations, preordering for dine-in service, and ordering for contactless pickup and delivery either by telephone or other remote means.
  - iv. If meals are provided to employees, employers are recommended to have the meal individually packaged for each employee.
  - v. Implement cashless and receiptless transactions.
- h. Any exceptions to these provisions for special events must be approved by the County of Maui.
- 18. Close-contact personal services, such as hair and nail salons, tattoo parlors, estheticians, and massage, may conduct business, provided operators are in compliance with State law and administrative rules.
  - a. Hygiene
    - i. Employees are required to wash hands immediately, upon entry, and prior to and following each service and break.
    - ii. All employees will be required to wear a CDC-recommended face mask whether servicing clients or not. Technicians may utilize plexiglass shields between employee and client.
    - iii. Patrons should come alone without guests, except where the patron requires the assistance of another adult; minors receiving services are allowed one accompanying adult.
    - iv. All patrons must wear a mask or cloth face covering pursuant to Rule 5, unless receiving treatment that specifically involves the face or head (e.g., facials, shaving, trimming around the ears).
    - v. Patrons should remain seated in designated workstation/chair until otherwise necessary or for an emergency.
  - b. Monitoring and screening workers and clients
    - i. Employees who are sick must stay home.
    - ii. Shop owner/managers must provide training, educational materials, and enforcement of proper sanitation and all applicable rules.
    - iii. Businesses must keep detailed daily logs of their daily business, including who came in, on what day and time,

- contact information, and service provider.
- iv. Employees must be temperature screened upon arrival. Any employee with a temperature of 100.4 degrees or higher must be immediately sent home.
- v. Each employee and client must be asked the following intake questions daily/at scheduling of the appointment, and upon check-in for appointments (via cell phone, prior to physical entry into the salon). If any of the answers to the below is "yes," the employee may not be allowed to work and customers should not receive services.
  - 1. Do you now, or have you had in the past 14 days:
    - a. a cough or sore throat?
    - b. fever or do you feel feverish?
    - c. shortness of breath?
    - d. loss of taste or smell?
  - 2. Have you been in close contact with anyone with these symptoms in the last 14 days?
  - 3. Have you been out of state or out of Maui County in the last 10 days, and if so, are you subject to any quarantine?

#### c. Environment

- i. Service providers to client ratio will be 1:1.
- ii. Services on appointment basis only; no walk-ins. Appointment scheduling should allow for adequate sanitation between appointments.
- iii. Prior to opening and at the end of each day (at a minimum), the facility, including break room and bathroom, must be thoroughly cleaned and sanitized to CDC workplace guidance.
- iv. Frequent daily cleaning of all high-touch surfaces.
- v. Workstations must be spaced to enforce physical distancing practices of 6 feet between clients. Businesses should consider divider shields and alternative work schedules. Workstations must be disinfected at the start and end of each shift, and in between each client.
- vi. Capes/smocks and towels must be single-use, either disposable or washed/dried and use for only one customer. Used items must be kept in an airtight container and laundered in hot, soapy water and dried at high temperature.
- vii. Contactless payment should be used whenever possible; credit card terminals should be wiped after each use. Customers should remain seated until called for checkout; one customer at a time.
- viii. EPA-approved disinfectant or disinfecting techniques must be used for equipment and work areas.

- 19. Canoe paddling. Six-person (single hull/OC-6) or 12-person (double hull/OC-12) canoe paddling is allowed with the following conditions:
  - a. Only official members of a canoe club should participate in OC-6 or OC-12 practices, in compliance with the restrictions on Outdoor Sports, Phase 1, as reasonably practicable, and these paddling-specific restrictions. Recreational practices for non-members, guests, visitors, or drop-ins who are not subject to quarantine are allowed.
  - b. To the extent possible, members of a canoe club wishing to paddle should register with their respective club for each paddling session for contact tracing purposes. Canoe clubs shall maintain the record of each paddling session for at least one month from the date of activity.
  - c. Canoe clubs are encouraged to create "crew bubbles," such that when crews are established, paddlers stay within their assigned crew to limit potential exposure to other club members.
  - d. Participation is voluntary. Individuals who are sick, exhibiting any symptoms, or have been exposed to anyone who is ill, COVID-19 positive, shall not be allowed to participate for 10 days from the date of exposure or the cessation of symptoms, or as otherwise approved by a healthcare professional. Persons subject to quarantine, and persons residing within the same household as a person subject to quarantine, shall not participate.
  - e. To the extent possible, paddlers should continue paddling with the same crew members and not switch crews.
  - f. Coaches must follow the restrictions in Outdoor Sports, Phase 1. Workouts or plans for paddling sessions should be shared with participants electronically or on bulletin boards prior to the activity.
  - g. To the extent possible, paddling activities should be time staggered between crews to avoid large gatherings, and crews must remain physically separated.
  - h. To the extent possible, club paddles should be assigned to individuals during this period, or individuals should bring their own ancillary equipment and supplies. Sharing of personal paddles, seat cushions, gloves, personal care products, water bottles / hydration systems and other similar items are prohibited.
  - i. Canoe club facilities or hales may be used for non-essential events or other social gatherings, in compliance with limitations on groups in Rule 4.
  - j. Paddlers should follow proper hygiene protocols, including washing hands or using hand sanitizer before and after participating. Gloves and masks are encouraged, but not required. Canoe clubs shall make soap and/or hand sanitizer available for participants.
  - k. All touch points should be disinfected before each use, including iakos, manus, seats, gunnels, bailers, and other similar items.

- Canoes and other equipment are recommended, but not required, to be left out in the sun and ambient temperature in between uses.
- 1. To the extent possible, when launching or concluding activities, canoe clubs should utilize wheels or other mechanical assistance to move the canoes, and avoid contact between paddlers.
- m. To the extent possible, wheels should be left under the canoes when not in use, and when concluding activities wheels should be placed under the canoe while still in the water.
- 20. Commercial and recreational boating will be allowed, subject to all County or State regulations, including any specific operational restrictions imposed by the State of Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources, and the following conditions:
  - a. Larger boats with a Coast Guard-rated capacity of more than 10, may allow not more than 75% of the rated capacity individuals allowed on the boat, including the boat crew.
  - b. Sanitation rules detailed in Rule 5 are followed.
- 21. Outdoor organized sports (<u>drills and practice</u>). This section applies to outdoor organized sports such as baseball, soccer, outdoor volleyball, surfing, swimming, football, rugby and similar outdoor sports ("Sports Program(s)"). Sports Programs may conduct skill-building drills and team-based practice, but not competitive play ("Phase 1") under the following requirements and conditions:
  - a. Activities are limited to skill-building drills and team-based practice. Physical distancing of six (6) feet or more should be maintained between participants to the extent possible.
  - b. No close contact activities, including, but not limited to, huddles, high fives, and handshakes.
  - c. Groups are limited to a single Sports Program team, including players and coaches. (This is an exception to the general rule restricting groups to 10 or less contained in Rule 4). Where multiple groups are present at a facility or field, Sports Program operators must implement measures to ensure that groups maintain six (6) feet of physical distance between each other at all times (i.e., no mingling between groups).
  - d. To the greatest extent reasonably practicable, physical distancing of at least six (6) feet between members of different households/living units should be maintained; and face coverings should be worn at all times unless engaged in active practice.
  - e. Sports Program operators must implement measures to ensure that:
    - i. To the extent consistent with this section, and to the extent reasonably practicable: (1) the Sports Program operators and participants shall follow applicable guidance from the CDC (available at https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-

- ncov/community/organizations/businessesemployers.html); and (2) established and reputable COVID-19-related guidelines for the facility and the activity at issue.
- ii. Physical distancing protocols and procedures exist for staff, athletes and non-program participants (including parents/guardians), with special consideration for the type of athletic activities engaged in, entrances and exits, queues, bottlenecks, facility layouts, and safe capacity limits.
- iii. Staff and athletes are screened (via self-screening, temperature checks or otherwise) regularly for illness or exposure to COVID-19.
- iv. Staff, athletes, and non-program participants (including parents/guardians) always wear face coverings when spectating, arriving, and leaving. The presence of non-participants should be discouraged during Phase 1.
- v. There is no socializing in groups before or after (unless otherwise authorized by these Rules).
- vi. Individuals from outside the Sports Program team are limited in their interactions with staff and participants during drop off/ pick up.
- vii. Athletes who are sick from COVID-19 may not attend a practice or training until they are cleared for release from isolation according to CDC guidelines and cleared to return by a healthcare provider.
- viii. Any staff or athlete exposed to a person with a confirmed or probable case of COVID-19 may not attend the program until they have completed quarantine following CDC or DOH guidelines.
- ix. All program activities are evaluated to identify and mitigate "high-risk" activities (shared equipment, incidental close contact, etc.) to reduce or prevent COVID-19 transmission.
- f. Individuals and teams must comply with any requirements imposed by the Department of Parks and Recreation.
- g. Nothing in this section requires a public or private Sports Program to open.
- 22. Competitive play for outdoor Sports Programs. Excluded from this section are outdoor sports and similar activities that require sustained close contact, such as outdoor wrestling, boxing, and mixed martial arts. These close contact sports may continue under Paragraph 21 (above). Sports Programs may conduct competitive play under the following requirements and conditions:
  - a. Activities may include competitive team play (e.g., one baseball team against another, or one soccer team against another), ocean-related

- competitions (surf/swim events), or training. (This is an exception to the general rule on groups of 10 persons or less contained in Rule 4).
- b. When not engaged in competitive team play or training, close contact should be reduced or eliminated to the extent possible (e.g., sitting close to teammates on a bench, standing close to teammates or opponents during downtime).
- c. No close contact activities outside of those necessary to carry out the competitive team play or training, including, but not limited to, huddles, high fives, and handshakes.
- d. No more than two Sports Program teams may compete against each other on an outdoor field, court, etc. at a time. Each Sports Program team is limited to a maximum of 30 participants, including players and coaches. Where other competitive play/games are scheduled on the same field, court, etc., Sports Program operators must implement measures to ensure that teams waiting to play maintain six (6) feet of physical distance from the other teams playing at all times (i.e., no mingling between groups).
- e. To the greatest extent reasonably practicable, physical distancing of at least six (6) feet between members of different households/living units should be maintained; and face coverings should be worn at all times unless engaged in active play.
- f. No more than 100 people should be present at any competitive play event allowed under this section, including any participants and coaches from sports program teams.
- g. Sports Program Operators must work with the Department of Parks and Recreation and implement measures to ensure that:
  - i. To the extent consistent with this section, and to the extent reasonably practicable: (1) the Sports Program operators and participants shall follow applicable guidance from the CDC (available at <a href="https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/businesses-employers.html">https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/businesses-employers.html</a>); and (2) established and reputable COVID-19-related guidelines for the facility and the activity at issue.
  - ii. Physical distancing protocols and procedures exist for staff, athletes and non-program participants (including parents/guardians), with special consideration for the type of athletic activities engaged in, entrances and exits, queues, bottlenecks, facility layouts, and safe capacity limits.
  - iii. Staff and athletes are screened (via self-screening or otherwise) regularly for illness or exposure to COVID-19.
  - iv. Staff, athletes, and non-program participants (including parents/guardians) always wear face coverings when spectating, arriving, and leaving.

- v. Socializing in groups before or after the activity is subject to Rule 4.
- vi. Individuals from outside the Sports Program should limit their interactions with staff and participants during drop off/ pick up or the competition.
- vii. Athletes who are sick from COVID-19 may not attend the activity until they are cleared for release from isolation according to CDC guidelines and cleared to return by a healthcare provider.
- viii. Any staff or athlete exposed to a person with a confirmed or probable case of COVID-19 may not attend the program until they have completed quarantine following CDC or DOH guidelines.
- ix. All program activities are evaluated to identify and mitigate "high-risk" activities (shared equipment, incidental close contact, etc.) to reduce or prevent COVID-19 transmission.
- h. Individuals and teams must comply with any requirements imposed by the Department of Parks and Recreation.
- i. Nothing in this section requires a public or private Sports Program to open to competitive play.
- 23. Film Production. Provided written authorization is obtained in advance by the Mayor's office, local, national, and international film production, television production, streaming production, and similar production may operate in the County based on the guidelines and recommendations for production cast and crew members available at <a href="https://www.honolulu.gov/rep/site/oed/oed\_docs/Guidelines\_and\_Best\_Practices\_for\_filming\_on\_the\_Island\_of\_Oahu\_during\_the\_time\_of\_COVID\_060320.pdf">https://www.honolulu.gov/rep/site/oed/oed\_docs/Guidelines\_and\_Best\_Practices\_for\_filming\_on\_the\_Island\_of\_Oahu\_during\_the\_time\_of\_COVID\_060320.pdf</a>.
- 24. Commercial event operators. Under the supervision of professional event planners or venues, commercial events (such as luau) may be conducted with the following restrictions:
  - a. Outdoor venues only.
  - b. Maximum 100 persons, including staff.
  - c. Table seating required. Maximum of 10 persons per table. Each table should be reserved for members of the same household or traveling party only (no intermixing of parties).
  - d. Food and beverage service must comply with the requirements for Restaurants/Bars in Paragraph 17.
  - e. Musicians must comply with the requirements in Paragraph 14.
  - f. Karaoke is allowed, provided the singer is at least 10 feet from others. General guest singing is not allowed.

- g. Dancing by guests is allowed, provided guidelines outlined for wedding event operators relating to dancing is adhered to, except for customary couple's dances such as between a bride/groom or parent/child at a wedding.
- h. Any requests for variation from these rules (e.g. for larger events such as luau) must be approved by the County of Maui.
- 25. Wedding event operators. Under the supervision of professional event planners, venues or catering and convention service managers, weddings may be conducted with the following restrictions:
  - a. Outdoor venues only (e.g. permitted private venues, hotels, beaches and/or churches). The property utilized must follow all permitting/zoning regulations for such events, and must obtain or have proper authorization before conducting such event.
  - b. Maximum 100 persons, including staff.
  - c. Usage of face coverings are required as detailed in Rule 5(A). Permitted exceptions are as follows:
    - i. Procession & Recession (e.g. family, bridal party, bride & groom).
    - ii. Officiate, provided there is at least a 6 foot distance maintained at all times between officiate and bride and groom, and between the officiate and any guests or staff.
    - iii. Guests once seated at the ceremony or reception location, provided that a minimum of 6 feet separates each row of seating.
    - iv. During cocktail reception only while actively eating or drinking, or seated, provided that there is at least a 6 foot distance between groups of 10 or less.
    - v. During photos (e.g. bride and groom photo, bridal party and family photos)
    - vi. During toasts or speeches when the microphone stand is 10 ft. from any guest.
    - vii. Customary dances such as between a bride and groom or parent and child.
  - d. Table seating required as follows:
    - i. Maximum of 10 persons per table. Table sizes of 8' x 4' rectangle, 60" round or 60" square, 72" round or 72" square are examples of recommended dimensions.
    - ii. It is recommended that each table be reserved for members of the same household.
    - iii. Dining tables can be pre-set with tableware (dinner and salad plates, cutlery and glassware) so long as dining area is roped off

- prior to guest seating; linens, chargers, stationary goods, flowers and miscellaneous décor (e.g. table numbers, etc.) can be pre-set.
- iv. Food and beverage service must comply with the requirements for Restaurants and Bars in Paragraph 17.
- e. Musicians and entertainment must comply with the requirements in Paragraph 14.
- f. Dancing is allowed, provided dancers wear approved face coverings. Two dancers permitted every 36 square feet (6 x 6 ft.). Up to 32 dancers will be allowed as follows:
  - i. 8 dancers for a 12 x 12 dance floor
  - ii. 12 dancers for a 12 x 18 dance floor
  - iii. 18 dancers for an 18 x 18 dance floor
  - iv. 32 dancers for a 24 x 24 dance floor
- g. Safety protocols are required as follows, no exceptions:
  - i. Staff and guests, including bridal party, bride and groom, will require a temperature check upon arrival. Any person with a temperature over 100.4 will not be allowed to remain.
  - ii. A record of all guest names with a contact number for each guest is required for contact tracing purposes, if necessary.
- h. Any requests for variation from these rules must be approved by the County of Maui.
- 26. Movie theaters, including snack bar operation, provided written authorization is obtained in advance by the Mayor's office in compliance with the requirements for the operation of Restaurants, above.
- 27. Ground transportation and commercial tour operators that are public utilities commission certified may operate at no more than 75% capacity of each respective licensed vehicle, excluding the driver from the capacity limits. Masks must be worn at all times, with proper sanitation and health and safety guidelines in place. Separate parties in each vehicle shall be physically separated to the greatest extent possible. Capacity restrictions shall not apply to transportation of passengers that belong to the same household.
- 28. Gyms, yoga studios, and similar venues, whether indoor or outdoor, must comply with Rule 5, and specifically must ensure that all occupants wear face coverings at all times, unless medically exempt.