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PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY RULES 

EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 16, 2021 
 

The virus that causes Coronavirus 2019 Disease (“COVID-19”) is a novel 

severe acute respiratory illness that is easily transmitted.  As of October 9, 

2021, there were more than 237 million cases and more than 4.8 million 

deaths globally, and the United States continues to record the highest numbers 

of cases, with more than 44.3 million cases and 712,936 deaths 

(https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/map.html).  To date, there have been 81,283 

cases and 837 deaths in the State of Hawaii, with 9,630 confirmed and 

probable cases in Maui County. Statewide, in the past 14 days, there were 

3,331 new cases, and the test positivity rate is 2.8 percent. 

(https://health.hawaii.gov/coronavirusdisease2019) 

On October 1, 2021, Governor David Y. Ige issued an Emergency 

Proclamation related to COVID-19, noting that the Delta SARS-CoV-2 virus 

strain has resulted in spiking case numbers, creating a significant risk of 

infection. The Proclamation continued the mandatory 10-day quarantine for 

persons entering the State of Hawaii, with pre-travel testing and other 

exemptions in accordance with the State’s Safe Travels program 

(https://hawaiicovid19.com).   
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These Rules are based on evidence of COVID-19 within the County and 

State of Hawaii, as reported by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 

(CDC), the State Department of Health (DOH), scientific evidence, and best 

practices regarding the most effective approaches to slow the transmission of 

communicable diseases generally and COVID-19 specifically. 

By the authority vested in me as Mayor of the County of Maui, by the 

Revised Charter of the County of Maui (1983), as amended (“Charter”), the 

Constitution and laws of the State of Hawaii, I, MICHAEL P. VICTORINO, Mayor 

of the County of Maui of the State of Hawaii, hereby amend, adopt and 

promulgate the following rules, pursuant to Section 127A-25, Hawai‘i Revised 

Statutes (“HRS”), which have the force and effect of law.  Violation of any of the 

following rules is punishable as a misdemeanor, with fines of up to $5,000, a 

maximum of one year in jail, or both.   

RULES 

Rule 1: Businesses, operations, and activities.  Pursuant to sections 

127A-12(a)(5), 127A-12(c)(12), 127A-13(b)(4), HRS, businesses, operations, and 

activities may operate during this emergency as set forth in the State’s 

Proclamation and these Rules.  Without limitation, “businesses” include for-

profit, non-profit, or other entities, regardless of the nature of the service they 

perform, or their corporate or entity structure. All businesses are permitted to 

remain open except as otherwise provided by these Rules, and subject to all 

restrictions and physical distancing requirements, the Governor’s Emergency 
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Proclamations, any subsequent proclamations or orders, the State Department 

of Health Reopening Hawaii Safe Practices, and any CDC and industry 

guidelines. Businesses shall refuse to allow entry to persons not wearing face 

coverings, unless an exception applies under the State’s Proclamation.   

Businesses not in compliance with any of these Emergency Rules may be 

subject to enforcement, including fines and mandatory closure.  Subsequent 

violations may result in increased fines and/or longer periods of mandatory 

closure. 

Exhibit A details specific requirements for certain businesses, operations, 

and activities. In the case of conflict with these Rules and the State’s Emergency 

Proclamation or Executive Order, the more stringent restriction shall apply.  

Rule 2: Safer outdoors.  All individuals currently within the County are 

encouraged to avoid or limit gathering with non-household members, and to 

utilize well-ventilated outdoor spaces in compliance with these Rules. To the 

extent persons use shared outdoor spaces (e.g., condominium common areas, 

pools, barbecue areas), they must comply with the limitations on gathering size 

in Rule 3 and social distancing requirements set forth herein, as ordered by the 

State of Hawaii, or as instructed by the CDC, whichever is more stringent.  

All residents and travelers into Maui County, whether inter-County or 

transpacific, are strongly encouraged to download either the AlohaSafe Alert 

application or another Google-Apple Exposure Notification System application, 

or enable their exposure notification setting on their mobile device. 
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Rule 3:  Social gatherings.  Indoor social gatherings of up to 10 persons 

are permitted and outdoor social gatherings of up to 25 persons are permitted. 

Gatherings of members of a single residential or family unit sharing the same 

address are not restricted. The Rules stated herein may be superseded by rules 

promulgated by the Governor.    

A social gathering is defined as a gathering or event that brings together 

persons from multiple households or living units at the same time for a discrete, 

shared, or group experience in a single room, space, or place, such as a private 

home, park, auditorium, stadium, arena, conference room, lunch room, meeting 

hall, or other indoor or outdoor space.   

A social gathering does not include, and this definition does not apply to 

businesses that have supervision, monitoring, and other enforcement protocols 

in place, such as events overseen by commercial event operators, or are 

otherwise subject to specific rules or restrictions, e.g., the state and federal court 

systems, state and federal offices and functions, Department of Education, 

daycares, preschools, private schools, universities, and similar institutions. 

Rule 4:  Face coverings required.  The requirements of Governor Ige’s 

October 1, 2021, Proclamation, Exhibit A, as amended, are incorporated herein 

by reference.  Pursuant to the State’s Proclamation, individuals shall wear face 

coverings over their noses and mouths when in public settings.  Individuals are 

not required to wear face coverings “while outdoors.” 
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Rule 5:  Vaccination, testing, or medical documentation requirements 

for certain higher-risk businesses and activities.  The requirements in Rule 5 

apply to certain businesses and activities listed in Exhibit A. These businesses 

and activities organizers must ensure that all customers or participants, as 

applicable, 12 years of age and older are fully vaccinated or provide proof of a 

negative COVID-19 test result taken within 48 hours of entry into the premises, 

and identification bearing the same identifying information as the negative 

COVID-19 test, which must be an FDA approved or FDA EUA approved 

molecular or antigen test. Businesses or organizers are responsible for verifying 

vaccination or test status and identity by government or school-issued 

identification.   

Full or part-time employees 12 years of age and older must show proof of 

full vaccination in the same manner as described in above or must provide proof 

of a negative COVID-19 test result taken within seven (7) days of entry into the 

business. This requirement is on a rolling basis. Each business must develop 

and keep a written record describing the entity's protocol for implementing and 

enforcing the requirements of this Rule. Such written record shall be available 

for inspection upon a request of a County official.   

People are considered fully vaccinated for COVID-19 when more than two 

weeks have passed since receiving the second dose in a two dose series, or more 

than two weeks after they have received a single-dose vaccine. A completed 

vaccination card (which includes name of person vaccinated, type of vaccine 
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provided and date last dose administered) in original, photocopied, or digital 

form; the Hawaii SMART Health Card digital health pass; or other similar 

vaccination documentation from a healthcare provider are acceptable proof of 

vaccination. Operators may collect the above acceptable proof of vaccination 

prior to indoor events.  

Each business must post an 8.5 x 11-inch (minimum) sign in a 

conspicuous place that is viewable by persons prior to entering the 

establishment. The sign must describe the COVID-19 vaccination or testing 

requirement in this Rule 5 and inform them that persons are required to show 

proof of full vaccination, or a negative COVID test, or positive test result taken 

within the parameters described below. 

Individuals who previously tested positive for COVID-19 and who have 

recovered may be allowed entry into the premises (or activity) by providing 

government or school-issued identification, plus written or electronic 

documentation as follows: 

a. The positive COVID-19 test result MUST be: 

 

1. A molecular test (NAAT, PCR, or RNA) or antigen text; 

2. Processed by a Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendment 

(CLIA) certified lab OR Department of Defense Clinical Laboratory 

Improvement Program (CLIP) lab with the name and CLIA/CLIP number of 

the lab clearly printed on the result; and 
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3. Dated no more than 90 days and no less than 11 days from 

your departure date for Hawaii. 

b. The medical provider letter MUST be: 

 

1. Dated at least 10 days after the collection date of your positive 

result; 

2. Signed by your medical provider with your medical provider’s 

name and National Provider Identifier (NPI) clearly listed; and 

3. Clearly written to indicate you are currently symptom free, or 

your symptoms have resolved, or you are cleared to travel. 

Rule 6: County meetings or hearings.  County meetings shall be 

conducted using interactive technology in accordance with Exhibit C of the 

State’s October 1, 2021, Proclamation. County contested cases shall be 

conducted using interactive technology, in compliance with Act 168 (2021). 

Rule 7: County parks and beach parks. Park hours and operations are 

subject to Department of Parks and Recreation administrative rules.  Only 

permitted commercial activities are allowed. 

Rule 8: Liquor control officers (“LCOs”) shall have the authority to 

enforce emergency rules at any establishment licensed to sell alcohol pursuant 

to Chapter 281, HRS.  An establishment that is not in compliance with these 

rules, including those listed in Exhibit “A”, attached hereto, maybe subject to 

immediate closure for a twenty-four (24) hour period effected by the Maui Police 

Department and/or LCO.  Liquor licensees not in compliance with the 
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requirements of these rules shall also be subject to penalties enforceable 

pursuant to the Liquor Laws of Hawaii, Chapter 281, HRS, which may include a 

reprimand, fine, suspension, and/or revocation of the liquor license. 

Rule 9: Mandatory travel quarantine and travel quarantine 

lodging.  Transpacific travelers into Maui County shall abide by the Governor’s 

Proclamation for travel, exceptions, quarantine, lodging, health screening, and 

any other requirements.  

Travelers whose negative test results are not available at the time of arrival 

shall quarantine at their place of lodging for 10 days or the duration of their stay 

in the State, whichever is shorter, unless an exception applies under the 

Governor’s Proclamation.  Persons who are subject to a travel quarantine and 

who require paid or commercial lodging shall quarantine at an approved travel 

quarantine hotel or motel.  A Short-Term Rental Home (“STRH”), Bed & Breakfast 

Home (“B&B”), or transient vacation rental (“TVR”) shall not be designated as 

their place of quarantine for travel quarantine purposes.   

Persons who are confirmed or identified to be COVID-19 positive, or 

identified as being exposed to COVID-19 shall comply with all directives by  the 

Department of Health, which may include isolation or quarantine at their place 

of lodging, which includes all forms of accommodations (STRH, B&B, TVR, hotel, 

motel, etc.). The hosts of any person subject to isolation and quarantine are 

subject to all provisions of these Rules and the Governor’s Proclamation. 
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Persons shall bear all costs related to their pre-travel testing, and any 

subsequent costs related to their COVID-19 status, including, but not limited to, 

monitoring, rescheduling flights or other arrangements; transportation; 

scheduled, extended, or relocated lodging; potential isolation; and any associated 

medical care. 

Rule 10: Violations and penalties.  Pursuant to Section 127A-29 and 

Chapter 291D, HRS, any person violating Rules 1 (inclusive of Exhibit A), 2, 3, 

4, and 5 shall be guilty of an emergency period infraction and shall be fined 

$250.00 for each first violation and $500.00 for each subsequent violation. Any 

person violating mandatory quarantine requirements pursuant to Rule 9 shall 

be guilty of a petty misdemeanor with fines up to $1,000.00, a maximum of 30 

days jail, or both.  Nothing contained in this section shall modify the criminal 

penalties for violating transpacific travel or quarantine rules set forth in the 

Governor’s Proclamations, as amended. Should the penalty provisions relating 

to quarantine violations be adjudged inconsistent with the Governor’s 

Proclamation, the Governor’s Proclamation shall govern. 
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These rules shall take effect on October 16, 2021 at 12:01 a.m., unless 

otherwise specified, and repeal the Emergency Rules promulgated September 

15, 2021. These Rules shall be repealed upon the earlier of: 1) subsequent 

promulgation, or 2) termination of the Proclamation of Emergency for Maui 

County. 

APPROVED: 

Corpor ti n Counsel 
County of Maui 

REVIEWED AND APPROVED: 

DAVID Y. IGE 
Date: __________ _ 

MICHAEL P. VICTORINO 
Mayor 
County of Maui 

October 12, 2021
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EXHIBIT “A” 

 

RULES FOR  
BUSINESSES, OPERATIONS, AND ACTIVITIES 

  

1. All businesses, operations, and activities shall comply with: 
a. In the case of a conflict between the State’s Proclamation and these 

Rules, the more stringent shall apply. 
b. Applicable physical distancing requirements (including face 

coverings), unless a specific exemption or exception applies. 

c. Businesses may request reconfiguration of the customer usage area, 
such as expansion of table seating or merchandise display into a 

business’s parking lot, in order to provide for adequate physical 
distancing, by letter to the Mayor’s Office. Such reconfiguration shall 
not exceed the scope of the use pre-Covid. 

d. In accordance with Act 83 (2021), condominium and other similar 
associations must conduct meetings remotely in a manner 
consistent with state law. 

e. Businesses, operations or activities that are conducted in outdoor 
settings, such as golf, tennis, and outdoor photography, should 

comply with CDC guidelines on sanitation. 
f. Hygiene.  

i. Employers must provide hand washing capability or sanitizer 

for employees and customers.  
ii. An adequate supply of soap, disinfectant, or hand sanitizer 

must be available at all times.  

iii. Frequent hand washing by employees, especially between 
interactions with customers.  

g. Staffing.  
i. Provide training for employees regarding these requirements.  
ii. Conducting pre-shift screening, and maintaining a staff 

screening log are recommended.  
iii. No employee displaying symptoms of COVID-19 should 

provide services to customers. Symptomatic or ill employees 
should not report to work.  

iv. No person should work within 72 hours of exhibiting a fever 

or other COVID-19 symptoms, and follow the CDC’s “What To 
Do If You Are Sick” guidance, available at 
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/if-you-are-

sick/steps-when-sick.html.  
v. Employer should establish a plan for employees getting ill and 

a return-to-work plan following CDC guidance, which can be 
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found online at: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-
ncov/community/guidance-business-response.html.  

h. Cleaning and Disinfecting.  
i. Cleaning and disinfecting must be conducted in compliance 

with CDC guidance.  

ii. When an active employee is identified as being COVID-19 
positive by testing, cleaning should be performed as soon after 

the confirmation of a positive test as practical consistent with 
CDC guidance.  

iii. CDC guidance can be found online at: 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-
ncov/community/disinfecting-building-facility.html  

   
2. Restrictions on shared indoor spaces (e.g., lunchrooms, breakrooms, 

conference rooms, etc.).  There is a heightened risk of spreading COVID-19 in 

shared indoor spaces located in public and private businesses. Under 
circumstances where utilizing indoor spaces is necessary, operators should: 

a. Limit capacity so that a minimum of 6 feet is maintainable at all 

times. 
b. Ensure face coverings are worn at all times, except when actively 

eating and drinking. 
c. Clean and disinfect in accordance with CDC guidelines. 
d. Improve ventilation to the extent possible and feasible. 

 
3. Musical practices and performances, including singing.  No more than 

10 musicians on stage, 6-foot distance between musicians, and a 

minimum of 6 feet between the stage and audience.  Dancing may be 
allowed in accordance with guidance provided to commercial event 

operators below.  Seating should follow restaurant guidelines, or for 
stadium type seating, physical distancing is required (maximum number 
of occupants, distancing between groups).  Karaoke is allowed, provided 

the singer is at least 6 feet from others. 
 

4. Restaurants, bars, food courts, and other food or social 
establishments shall comply with the following requirements: 
a. General.  

i. Bars and restaurants must close no later than midnight.  This 
restriction does not apply to drive-through, non-liquor related 
take-out, delivery, or room service only.  For non-liquor 

related take-out service, customers shall not enter the 
restaurant past midnight.  
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ii. Maintain physical distancing between different groups. 

Patrons must remain seated with their party with no mingling 

between groups. 
iii. Compliance with all regulatory guidelines. Development, 

posting, and implementation of written protocols (“COVID-19 

Mitigation Plan”) consistent with County, State, industry-
specific associations or organizations, and CDC guidance to 

mitigate the spread of COVID-19 including, but not limited to 
the following: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-
ncov/community/organizations/business-employers/bars-

restaurants.html 
b. Operations. 

i. Bars and restaurants may operate at 50% indoor capacity 
provided they ensure that all customers are in compliance 
with the vaccination, testing, or post-COVID-19 infection 

verification as detailed in Rule 5.  
 

ii. Patrons without proof of compliance with Rule 5 may be 

served in outdoor dining spaces only, or by take-out or drive 
through. For purposes of this section, a facility is classified as 

“outdoor” as long as no more than 50% of the structure’s 
perimeter has impermeable walls, allowing sufficient, 
unrestricted outdoor air movement resulting in cross 

ventilation.  Such walls must be non-adjacent or non-
continuous.  Adjacent walls are walls that touch to form a 

corner, but do not include retractable walls or structures that 
are opened during operations.   

 

Features Classification Description 

75% to 100% of 

the structure has 
impermeable walls 

Indoor Having 75% to 100% of the structure 

closed obstructs air flow, and will 
confine air. 

50% of the 
structure has 

adjacent 
impermeable walls 

Indoor Air circulation is decreased in the 
corner where the two “closed” adjacent 

walls meet and will confine air. 
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50% of the 
structure has non-

adjacent 

impermeable walls 

Outdoor With at least 50% of the non-adjacent 
walls in a structure being open, the 
resulting air movement allows for 

droplet/aerosols containing the 
COVID-19 virus to disperse rapidly.  
Ceilings, roofs, umbrellas, canopies, 

etc. are permitted. 

Circular or other 
uniquely shaped 
structure with 

50% non-
continuous 

impermeable walls 

Outdoor With at least 50% non-continuous 
walls in a circular structure, it allows 
for sufficient openings to promote air 

flow and in turn rapid dispersal of 
droplets/aerosols. 

Ceilings, roofs, 

umbrellas, 
canopies and other 
similar structures 

with no walls 

Outdoor This type of structure allows open-air 

ventilation and rapid dispersal of 
droplets/aerosols. 

 

iii. Face coverings.  
1. Employees must wear face coverings while indoors. 
2. Customers - Customers must wear face coverings at all 

times while indoors, but may temporarily remove a face 
covering while actively eating or drinking.  

iv. Seating is arranged so that six (6) feet of separation is 

maintained between tables.  Outdoor occupancy will be 
limited by physical distancing capacities between separate 

groups.  
v. The number of persons at one table shall be no more than 10. 
vi. Condiments should be by request in single-use disposable 

packets, or reusable condiment containers that are sanitized 
between parties.  

vii. Condiments, silverware, flatware, glasses, or other traditional 

table top items should not be left on an unoccupied table. 
viii. Tables and chairs should be fully sanitized after each group 

(or individual customer) leaves the restaurant.  
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ix. Disposable foodware and utensils should be used when 

available.  When non-disposable foodware or utensils are 

used, they must be sanitized after each use consistent with 
DOH guidance and regulations, and “best practices” of the 
FDA (available here: https://www.fda.gov/food/food-safety-

during-emergencies/best-practices-re-opening-retail-food-
establishments-during-covid-19-pandemic), as updated or 

superseded.  
x. Provide disposable menus or menu board, or sanitize reusable 

menus after each use.  

xi. Hourly touch-point sanitization (workstations, equipment, 
screens, door knobs, restrooms, etc.) is recommended.  

xii. Buffets, salad bars, and other types of self-service of food are 
not allowed.   

xiii. Dancing may be allowed in accordance with guidelines for 

wedding operators below; karaoke is allowed provided the 
singer is at least 10 feet from others. 

c. Specific requirements for bars: 

i. Outdoor occupancy will be limited by physical distancing 

capacities between separate groups. 

ii. Limit groups within the bar to a maximum of ten (10) 

individuals per group. 

iii. Ensure groups within the bar maintain at least six (6) feet of 

separation from other groups. 

iv. Prohibit groups within the bar from intermingling. Patrons 

must remain seated. 

v. Designate areas to separate groups at least six (6) feet apart 

from each other (e.g., through ropes or other physical 

separation for standing areas, or the seating of guests at 

separate tables, or both). 

vi. Groups maintain a minimum of six (6) feet of physical distance 

from each other. 

d. Encouraged practices:  

i. Have customers enter and exit through different entries using 

one-way traffic, where possible.  
ii. Start or continue entryway, curbside, and home delivery.  
iii. Encourage making reservations, preordering for dine-in 

service, and ordering for contactless pickup and delivery 
either by telephone or other remote means.  

iv. If meals are provided to employees, employers are 
recommended to have the meal individually packaged for each 
employee. 
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v. Implement cashless and receiptless transactions. 

e.  Any exceptions to these provisions for special events must be 

approved by the County of Maui. 
 

 

5. Outdoor organized sports.  This section applies to outdoor organized 

sports such as baseball, basketball, soccer, volleyball, softball, tennis, 
pickleball, surfing, swimming, football, rugby, canoe paddling and similar 
outdoor sports (“Sports Program(s)”).  This section does not apply to State 

Department of Education sports programs. Sports Programs may conduct 
skill-building drills, team-based practice, and competitive play under the 
following requirements and conditions: 

a. No close contact activities, including, but not limited to, huddles, 
high fives, and handshakes. 

b. Practice groups are limited to a single Sports Program team, 
including players and coaches.  Where multiple groups are present 
at a facility or field, Sports Program operators must implement 

measures to ensure that groups maintain six (6) feet of physical 
distance between each other at all times (i.e., no mingling between 
groups).  

c. No more than two Sports Program teams may compete against each 
other on an outdoor field, court, etc. at a time.  Where other 

competitive play/games are scheduled on the same field, court, etc., 
Sports Program operators must implement measures to ensure that 
teams waiting to play maintain six (6) feet of physical distance from 

the other teams playing at all times (i.e., no mingling between 
groups). 

d. Spectators are allowed and groups are limited to 25 persons not 
sharing the same address. Spectators are encouraged, but not 
required, to wear masks. Total spectator attendance is limited to 

50% of the venue’s occupancy. No food or beverages (except water) 
allowed. 

e. Sports Program operators must implement measures to ensure that: 

i. To the extent consistent with this section, and to the extent 
reasonably practicable: (1) the Sports Program operators and 

participants shall follow applicable guidance from the CDC 
(available at https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-
ncov/community/organizations/businesses-

employers.html); and (2) established and reputable COVID-
19-related guidelines for the facility and the activity at issue. 

ii. Physical distancing protocols and procedures exist for staff 
and athletes, with special consideration for the type of athletic 
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activities engaged in, entrances and exits, queues, 
bottlenecks, facility layouts, and safe capacity limits. 

iii. Staff and athletes are screened (via self-screening, 
temperature checks or otherwise) regularly for illness or 
exposure to COVID-19. 

iv. Staff and athletes should consider wearing face coverings 
when spectating, arriving, and leaving, and must wear face 

coverings while indoors.  
v. Individuals from outside the Sports Program team should 

limit their interactions with staff and participants during drop 

off/pick up.  
vi. Athletes who are sick from COVID-19 may not attend a 

practice or training until they are cleared for release from 
isolation according to CDC guidelines and cleared to return 
by a healthcare provider. 

vii. Any staff or athlete exposed to a person with a confirmed or 
probable case of COVID-19 may not attend the program until 
they have completed quarantine following CDC or DOH 

guidelines.  
viii. All program activities are evaluated to identify and mitigate 

“high-risk” activities (shared equipment, incidental close 
contact, etc.) to reduce or prevent COVID-19 transmission. 

ix. Sports Programs shall comply with all requirements imposed 

by the Department of Parks and Recreation.  

 

6. Indoor organized sports.  This section applies to indoor sports such as 

basketball, volleyball, and similar sports to be played indoors at specific 

indoor courts/venues at specific times (“Indoor Sports Program(s)”).  This 

section does not apply to State Department of Education sports programs.  

Indoor Sports Programs may practice and competitive play under the 

following requirements and conditions: 

a. Specific requirements/conditions 

i. Spectators are allowed and groups are limited to 10 persons 
who are not household members sharing the same address. 
Total spectator attendance is limited to 50% of the venue’s 

occupancy. No food or beverages (except water) allowed.  

ii. Face coverings.  Face coverings must be worn by all 

participants, coaches/instructors/staff, and spectators at all 

times.  For aquatic sports, face coverings may be removed 

prior to entering the water. 
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iii. No socializing.  There shall be no socializing at the indoor 

courts/venues at issue before or after the scheduled Indoor 

Sports Program activity. 

iv. Implementing measures consistent with state and federal 

guidance.  Indoor Sports Program operators must implement 

measures to combat the spread of COVID-19 that are 

consistent with the Hawai‘i Department of Health’s 

“Guidance and Considerations for Return to Youth Sports” as 

may be amended and all related guidance on sports 

(collectively “DOH Guidance”).  Available at 

https://health.hawaii.gov/coronavirusdisease2019/tag/spo

rts/.  Furthermore, to the extent consistent with this section, 

and Hawai‘i Department of Health guidance, Indoor Sports 

Program operators and participants must also follow 

applicable guidance from the CDC (available at 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-

ncov/community/organizations/businesses-

employers.html).  These measures include, but are not 

limited to the following: 

1. Physical distancing protocols and procedures for staff, 

athletes, with special consideration for the type of 

athletic activities engaged in, entrances and exits, 

queues, bottlenecks, facility layouts, and safe capacity 

limits. 

2. Regular screening of staff and participants for illness or 

exposure to COVID-19. 

3. Prohibiting socializing before or after the activity. 

4. Ensuring participants and staff who have COVID-19 do 

not attend Sport Program activities until they are 

cleared for release from isolation according to CDC 

guidelines and cleared to return by a healthcare 

provider. 

5. Ensuring any staff or participant exposed to a person 

with a confirmed or probable case of COVID-19 does not 

attend the program until they have completed 

quarantine following CDC guidelines.  

6. Evaluation of all program activities to identify and 

mitigate “high-risk” activities (shared equipment, 

incidental close contact, etc.) to reduce or prevent 

COVID-19 transmission. 
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7. Limiting close contact.  To the greatest extent 

reasonably practicable, physical distancing of at least 

six (6) feet between members of different 

households/living units should be maintained.  For 

example, when not engaged in competitive team play or 

training that requires close contact, close contact 

should be reduced or eliminated to the extent possible 

(e.g., sitting close to teammates on a bench, standing 

close to teammates or opponents during 

downtime).  Huddles, high fives, and handshakes and 

similarly unnecessary close contact activities should be 

eliminated.  

8. Competitive play/tournaments/training allowed.  

Indoor Sports Program activities may include 

competitive team play (e.g., one team against another), 

tournaments, and/or practice/training.  This is an 

exception to the general rule on gatherings contained in 

these Rules.  Where other competitive play/games are 

scheduled on the same court/venue, Indoor Sports 

Program operators must implement measures to ensure 

that teams waiting to play maintain six (6) feet of 

physical distance from the other teams playing at all 

times (i.e., no mingling between teams/groups). 

v. Individuals must comply with any lawful requirements 

imposed by the Indoor Sports Program operator. 

vi. For County facilities, sports programs shall comply with all 

requirements imposed by the Department of Parks and 

Recreation. 

b. Nothing in this section requires a public or private Indoor Sports 

Program or court/venue to open. 

 

7. Film Production. Provided written authorization is obtained in advance 

by the Mayor’s office, local, national, and international film production, 

television production, streaming production, and similar production may 

operate in the County based on the guidelines and recommendations for 

production cast and crew members available at 

https://www.honolulu.gov/rep/site/oed/oed_doycs/Guidelines_and_Best_Pra

ctices_for_filming_on_the_Island_of_Oahu_during_the_time_of_COVID_060320.

pdf. 
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8. Commercial event operators, including weddings and luau. Under the 

supervision of professional event planners, venues or catering and convention 

service managers, commercial events may be conducted with the following 

restrictions: 

a. Outdoor venues only (e.g. permitted private venues, hotels, beaches 

and/or churches).  The property utilized must follow all 

permitting/zoning regulations for such events, and must obtain or 

have proper authorization before conducting such event.  

b. Organizers of professional events larger than fifty (50) persons, in 

order to ensure appropriate safe practices, shall notify and consult 

with the Mayor’s Office, and obtain approval prior to the event. 

c. Usage of face coverings are recommended.  

d. Table seating required as follows: 

i. It is recommended that each table be reserved for members of 

the same household. 

ii. Food and beverage service must comply with the requirements 

for Restaurants and Bars. 

e. Musicians and entertainment must comply with the requirements 

in Paragraph 3. 

f. Dancing is allowed pursuant to physical distancing guidelines.  

g. Safety protocols are required as follows: 

i. Staff and guests will require a temperature check upon 

arrival. Any person with a temperature over 100.4 will not be 

allowed to remain. 

ii. A record of all guest names with a contact number for each 

guest is required for contact tracing purposes. 

h. Any requests for variation from these rules must be approved by the 

County of Maui.  

 

9. Ground transportation and commercial tour operators that are public 

utilities commission certified may operate at no more than 50% capacity of each 

respective licensed vehicle, excluding the driver from the capacity limit.  Masks 

must be worn at all times while in the vehicle, with proper sanitation and health 

and safety guidelines in place.  Separate parties in each vehicle shall be 

physically separated to the greatest extent possible.  Capacity restrictions shall 

not apply to transportation of passengers that belong to the same household or 

traveling party (air crew, etc.). This Rule does not apply to public transportation 

and the Expeditions Maui-Lanai Passenger Ferry. 
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10. Gyms, fitness centers, and other higher risk businesses.  Indoor 

operations are closed, except that such higher risk businesses may operate at 

50% indoor capacity provided they ensure that all customers 12 years of age and 

older are fully vaccinated, show proof of a negative COVID test or of a previous 

COVID-19 infection within the last 90 days, as described in and in compliance 

with Rule 5 and Exhibit A, Paragraph 4(b). Full and part-time employees must 

show proof of full vaccination, a negative COVID test or of a previous COVID-19 

infection within the last 90 days, as described in and in compliance with Rule 5 

and Exhibit A, Paragraph 4(b). Operators are responsible for verifying 

vaccination status, testing or previous infection and identity by government or 

school-issued identification and for all requirements listed in Rule 5 and Exhibit 

A, Paragraph 4(b). This Paragraph 11 applies to facilities that are indoor and 

outdoor, when customers may interchangeably access both spaces. Facilities 

that are 100% outdoor (as the term is defined in Exhibit A, Paragraph 4(b)(iii)) 

may continue operations but are encouraged to adopt the requirements in this 

Paragraph 10. 


